Valentine Cinnamon Rolls for 2

Hello all. Miss Piggy here.

Why Miss Piggy?

Is it because my face recently swelled up like a balloon for some strange reason? Maybe.

Or it could be because, when I tried one of these cute cinnamon rolls, I couldn’t stop myself from eating another and wanting to hide the rest.

Are these not just the cutest things?

Are these not just the cutest things?

It’s double good for S. Valentines day because they are shaped like hearts aaaand because you get two middles, which as we all know are the best parts, so two people can share a roll. Then they can share another.

And another.

IMG_3298 (800x598)Because you made plenty.

I just used a basic sweet dough recipe. This one is a favorite all-purpose sweet dough for making by hand or in the bread machine on dough only cycle. You could even add raisins (half way through the kneading cycle, or when your “time to add stuff” timer beeps, like some of bread machines have had). Or perhaps lemon zest or cinnamon to the dough with the yeast and other dry ingredients.

The only difference here is the shaping!

Roll your sweet dough out like for normal cinnamon rolls, into a large thin rectangle.

Spread with soft butter and sprinkle heavily with cinnamon sugar.

Here is an old photo of rolled out dough with butter and sugar. I would roll it out a bit thinner I think. But you get the gist of it.

Here is an old photo of rolled out dough with butter and sugar. I would roll it out a bit thinner I think. But you get the gist of it.

Now, instead of rolling from one end to make one large tube, you roll from two opposite sides into the middle. Once in the middle, kind of gently press together and start cutting them into buns, about 1″-11/2″ wide.

You then carefully pick each one up and lay it on your parchment lined baking sheet. If some cinnamon sugar comes out, no worries, this will happen. You then pinch the bottom a bit to form the bottom of the heart shape.

I think they look like a bunch of happy faces myself. But then, whats not to be happy about?

I think they look like a bunch of happy faces myself. But then, whats not to be happy about?

I like to lay them fairly close together, as they will rise and connect, making them to rise higher and keeping the sides of the dough softer. The sides having just air or the pan will be crisper. (Oh my gosh, I wish I had some left.)

This is what you get when you use a camera with manual focus without your glasses. A bit blurry. But you can see the one 'end piece' roll that I will eat, in the lower right. (My glasses were not fitting right on my big puffy face.)

This is what you get when you use a camera with manual focus without your glasses on. A bit blurry. But you can see the one ‘end piece’ roll that I will eat, in the lower right. (My glasses were not fitting right on my big puffy face.)

Bake in a 350 degree oven until lightly golden brown. The edge rolls will brown first. I suggest after about 12 minutes, you turn the pan around 180, since the back of most ovens is hotter than the front. If you want soft rolls, do not over bake. When they are just starting to brown, that means the dough is set. You can take them out and gently press the roll. It should be fairly firm, but not squishy. I am afraid I do not time them, I just keep an eye on them, checking every few minutes. The smell in the house will be heavenly.

In the meantime, how about making some cream cheese icing? Even with this little amount I made, I had at least half left over. Shoot, guess I better make some more buns! I put mine in a disposable pastry bag with a frosting tip. You can use a baggie with one corner cut off to squeeze the frosting out with. Just put the frosting in the baggie, snip the corner, twist the top of the baggie and, if you are right-handed, use your right hand to hold the twist shut. This will be between your thumb and index finger. Cup the rest of the fingers over the bag and this is where you will apply gently pressure, to squeeze  the frosting out. Your left hand just guides where you want it to go.

I could have put more frosting on it, but I wanted to maintain the heart shape. Actually I wanted to accentuate the heart shape, since some of the rolls did not hold the heart shape as well, and just looked like funny swirly eyed faces.

Here is what I did for the frosting/icing:

  • blob of soft cream cheese, about 3 oz.
  • blob of butter equal to cream cheese, about 3 Tbsp.
  • small drizzle of vanilla
  • small drizzle of milk, with more if needed. (I was actually out of milk and used water, so there you go, if you are out too)
  • powdered sugar, lots

Okay, I mixed the butter and cream cheese with a hand mixer, then added the vanilla and about a tsp. of milk.

(I might add here that my old faithful, much abused hand mixer is reluctantly giving up the ghost. After being smashed in drawers and finally dropped to the floor,it now has one speed, slow, and that starts as soon as you plug it in. The on/speed lever came out with some parts. I tried to push it all back in, but like a sloppy surgery, things didn’t work right after that.)

Then I poured in the powdered sugar, about a cup or more. I mixed it with the mixer, then added more sugar, a little more milk/water, more sugar, until it was the right consistency. Thickish, but not too thick. You want to be able to squeeze it through your bag. But not too runny. I would guesstimate I used between 3-4 cups of the powdered stuff.

Now it might be easier to put the baggie in a cup, with the top pulled down over the lid of the cup. This will hold it open while you spoon in the frosting. Now just decorate away!

Here is an old picture of a batch I made a few years back. They are partially whole wheat rolls with a thin drizzle of icing made just with powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. No butter. It did not go over as well. Sheesh, try to make things healthier for the ungrateful mob.

This was a batch made with, if I remember right, about1/2 whole wheat. This is from 2011. I think, looking at it, that I could have baked them less. They were not as popular. Not as soft. But worth a try I think. Perhaps enrich the dough with more butter? Bake less? Or just give in to the decadence once or twice a year, eh?

This was a batch made with, if I remember right, about 1/2 whole wheat. This is from 2011. I think, looking at it, that I could have baked them less. They were not as popular. Not as soft. But worth a try I think. Perhaps enrich the dough with more butter? Bake less? Or just give in to the decadence once or twice a year, eh? But they are pretty.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee larkins
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 14:24:06

    Looks and sounds fantastic! I wanna try them and maybe tint the white frosting with red dye!!!! For valentines day!!

    Reply

  2. bakermom
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 22:28:54

    great idea. Take em to work.

    Reply

I'd like to hear from you!

Archives

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

