Fat Tuesday/Skinny Ash Wednesday- Wonderful Waffles

Well, yesterday, for those who missed it, was “Shrove Tuesday” otherwise known as “Fat Tuesday” otherwise known as “Mardi Gras”. A time to empty out the fridge, eat up all your meats, use up all you milk and butter and eggs before Lent starts, which is today.

After today all you eat is sticks and grass and dirt pretty much. At least in the old days.

I used to wonder why the boy scouts always had a fundraiser pancake dinner on Shrove Tuesday every darn year. Pancakes and eggs. Now I get it. Even I-HOP has a fundraising Fat Tuesday pancake special.

So I get pancakes. But lets throw in some steak, ham and eggs, bacon and sausage, etc. After all, this is supposed to be your last culinary fling!

And let’s have the pancakes look a lot like waffles.

NOW we’re talking Fat Tuesday!

Well, we didn’t have the steak, ham and eggs, but I made some pretty amazing waffles, covered in diced pecans, whip cream and blueberries and topped with organic maple syrup we are trying from Costco. Usually we are loyal Trader Joes maple syrup customers. We love their grade B maple syrup, even if it is $13.99 per 24 oz. bottle. We just ration it out, make it last and use it to the last drop. (I may have occasionally been caught licking the lid to the bottle to get out the very last drop before tossing it.)

And we did do the sausage and bacon. But you don’t need those recipes.

IMG_3366 (800x659)

I-HOP at home! Not the best photo. I actually took this this morning, toasting up some leftover waffles and making this for one of my kids that missed dinner last night.Still YUM!

What you need is this amazing buttermilk waffle recipe! So here is is, the recipe I found in an old Taste of Home,  issue and it got raves from the family. This will now be my go-to waffle recipe. Well, I will go to it the whole 1 or 2 times a year I make it. So we don’t mind it being very rich. (Oh, I have to mention, I didn’t have a whole 2 cups of buttermilk, so I substituted 1 cup buttermilk, added a large blob of sour cream, maybe 1/3 cup to it and filled it up to the 2 cup mark with milk.)

Wonderful Buttermilk Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter (1 cube)

Cooking Directions

  1. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and baking soda in a bowl. Set aside.
  2. In another bowl, beat the eggs until light.Add buttermilk and mix well.
  3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients (or visa versa, depending on which is in the biggest bowl) and mix until smooth.
  4. Stir in the butter.
  5. Now pour out into your waffle irons and bake away. You might want to add diced pecans to each waffle after it is poured into the iron to add some crunch. I added ours on top.
  6. bon appetit!
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Renee larkins
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 09:11:46

    Yum. I shall be right over!!!!

    Reply

I'd like to hear from you!

Archives

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

