Oddn n Ends with a slice of cake

Turtle fudge skillet cake, a secret recipe

Turtle fudge skillet cake, a secret recipe

So, do you keep a glass of water by your bed? I could not more sleep at night without water next to me that sleep without air. Or without a fan of some kind on as white noise. Us light sleepers would be waking up all night at every little noise if we did not have white noise in the back ground. And a snoring husband does not count as white noise. Thats more like, I dunno, black noise. Just noisy noise.

So its 2 in the morning and you need a sip of water. So you reach over, half awake, take hold of the glass and take a sideways sip, because you are leaning over toward the night stand. Ever try drinking out of a cup sideways? I have never really tried it while awake, but I somehow can manage it while asleep. Of course, sometimes a little water might not make it quite to my lips. Sometimes it escapes the cup and lands elsewhere. And depending on just how cold it is that night, and where the elsewhere is it landed on, you might suddenly find yourself VERY wide awake. And damp.

I got to see an old friend out-of-the-blue yesterday, which was a treat. Rather than looking like an “old” friend Cinda is looking younger and fitter and better than ever. Both removing all sugar from her diet 3 years ago and then moving to the middle-of-no-where in Endicott WA with all the hiking and fresh air available, well, its taken its tole on her. She looks and feels great! She even, for her brief visit, helped me weed the little garden. Nothing like having a friend to chat with while weeding. The job gets done in a snap!

So the whole not eating sugar thing is very inspiring. One side of my head knows just how bad processed sugar is, but the other side, plus the taste buds, wont come to an understanding.

I got pretty excited yesterday thought. I am on a half-hearted sort of diet and have lost a few pounds. But yesterday I weighed myself after a couple of weeks and it read that I had lost 9 pounds! Wow! Should I be concerned or thrilled? Actually, I was a bit suspicious. So that half of the brain that wants to live sans sugar didn’t trust the scale and the rest of me was throwing confetti into the air and patting myself on the back. Wow, life feels pretty good.

Then my brain forced me to march back in there later that day and try again, on the scale. Dang! Those 9 pounds were right back again.

Stupid scale. Guess it needs batteries.

Or it was mocking me.

One of the reasons we don’t have a scale is because we don’t set much store on it. Our clothes and a mirror tells us what we need to know. But our guest here can’t live without weighing himself several times a day. It’s a thing with him. One of many things. So naturally, if it’s sitting there…I’m gonna use it once in a while.

Until now.

So, cakes, huh? I’ve had a run of cake orders lately. This one I am sharing with you today was for my sons teachers birthday and was not exactly an order, but an idea of my own. I called and no one had provided one. It can’t hurt to grease the educational wheels, right? (Just kidding, she is a wonderful person and deserved a wonderful cake.)

Why had I bought the 12″ Executive skillet from Pampered Chef when it was on sale 60% off in April? Why? This Turtle Fudge Skillet cake, thats why! I kept hearing about¬† this cake you could make at shows baked in a skillet. This one or pineapple upside down cake or black forest cake…But this turtle cake was calling out to me.

But I know better than to make a cake just for us.  So here was the perfect opportunity. Except for one small glitch.

I never did get to taste it.

Not one nibble.

When I delivered it, it was warm and smelled like heaven. I had to just ravish it with my eyes. My lips never got to touch it.

Well, I am going to share the recipe with you all, so you can taste it anyway. But don’t feel sorry for me. I will make it again some day when we are having a dinner party or a birthday party or going to a pot luck. You betcha!

Turtle Fudge Skillet Cake

(of course, I tweaked the original recipe, just a little)

you need:

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix of your choice
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup melted butter plus 1 extra Tablespoon for the pan
  1. Mix well with a hand or standing mixer, the first 4 ingredients. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. If you have the PC Executive 12″ skillet, put one Tbsp of butter into it and, on the stove top, melt it over a medium heat. Spread it out.
  3. Pour the cake batter into the skillet, spreading it out evenly.
  4. Put in the oven and bake about 30 minutes, testing it a bit earlier to see if done. (with a straw or other pointy-sticky thing)

Now for the shiny, crunchy topping:

  • 4 oz semi-sweet chocolate. If bars, chop up. Or use chips.
  • 1 jar of caramel topping for ice cream (although I only had half a jar left and made do)
  • about 1/2 cup or more chopped pecans
  1. Put the chocolate and half the caramel in a microwave proof dish and melt in the microwave about 30-45 seconds, stirring it up. (Or do this in a small saucepan on the stove.)
  2. After the cake is done, let it cool 5 minutes, then invert onto a large platter.
  3. Pour the melted sauce over the cake, smoothing it out and letting it drip over the edge of the cake.
  4. Now sprinkle the chopped pecans over the top.
  5. Then, if you want, drizzle the rest of the caramel topping over the top of the whole cake and stand back to take a picture because it looks amazing!
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juliebug
    May 21, 2014 @ 10:48:34

    Looks scrumptious!

    Reply

  2. Cinda
    May 22, 2014 @ 07:00:34

    It was wonderful to see you! Now it’s your turn to come see me! Your cake looks awesomely delicious.

    Reply

I'd like to hear from you!

Archives

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

