Krispie Treats with browned butter and sea salt

(strangely enough, one year to the day this was posted, I am going to be making these again. What is it about this time of year and marshmallowy treats? So, for those of you who missed it the first time around, here is the replay. Read it over a plate full of soft and crunchy krispy treats. Yes, go make some first, then come back and read. Then you will want to make yet another batch to compare).

I think this just gives the old barn a new coat of paint, don’t you? Take an old favorite recipe and jazz it up a little with subtle flavors like browned butter and ‘Fleur de Sel’. (sea salt).

I found one at a deli and looked askance at it. Whats the big deal that you should charge $2.50 for a little chunk of a krispie treat?

So, of course, I had to buy it.

It was wonderful. It brought back all kinds of memories.

IMG_1821 (1024x764)

ooey-gooey crispy sweet and salty!

When I was much younger and was living in an apartment in San Diego near Balboa Park, way back when, my little sister would come for a visit and I would always make a big pan of treats for her and I to share. We would finish off the whole pan! Did we get any sleep? I don’t remember. The sugar must have fogged up the brain after that. I also remember us walking to Balboa Park and she would skate and we would wave at the bus loads of tourists. Fun stuff.

But it has been a long time. I got older and began to realize the evils of sugar and processed cereal and blah-blah-blah. So the youngest of my muffins, his eyes almost popped out of his head when he saw me make this batch the other day.

“whaaa! Me want! Me have!  You have to let me have one!” I think there was begging and groveling involved, I don’t know. But of course, I let him have one. Then he bought more of it at the church bake sale. My mouth is watering just remembering them.

For one thing, it beats prepackaged treats by a mile. I have always made them with real butter and so they have always been wonderful, but this had a little something more. The salt was a definite enhancer. I wouldn’t have thought of adding salt to a sweet like that. (I am so a ‘thinking inside the box’ girl.) But it was wonderful. I could taste the buttery goodness, which is what happens when you brown the butter, it makes its presence known, instead of staying in the background.

So I checked out a couple of websites that had similar recipes and worked from there. For one day I set aside my nutrition scruples.

The recipe is similar to the ones printed on boxes of cereal. It’s the amount of butter as well as technique and the addition of salt on top that changes things. Yes, you can still do the usual add-ons, chips, peanut butter, etc. But you don’t have to.

IMG_1819 (765x1024)

Krispie Treats with Browned Butter and Sea Salt

 

This is an even yummier version of regular treats.

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. In a large pot, melt the butter. Keeping the heat medium low, watch it while it continues to melt. It will foam up and start to darken. Don’t walk away! It can burn in an instant.
  2. When it is a nice golden brown and smells good, add the marshmallows and turn off the heat. Stir with a wooden spoon, stirring and stirring until the little mallows are pretty much melted. If there are little lumps left, don’ worry about it.
  3. Now add the rice cereal. Stir it up well. Scoop out into a pan. The size of the pan depends on how thick you want the treats to be. an 8×8 or 9×9 pan makes pretty thick ones. I used an odd sized one my mom gave me, its a 9×7. You could use a 9×13 or even just a baking sheet, shaping it with your hands into a rectangle. I didn’t grease the pan and had no problems. But you might consider oiling or buttering the pan first.
  4. Now sprinkle the coarse sea salt over the top. I used a grinder, but if you have Fleur de Sel, you can use that or any favorite salt. I didn’t really measure the salt. I suppose no more than a teaspoon of it. Now cut into squares. Taste one to make sure its okay. Then another. Oh heck, just one more.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Jun 13, 2013 @ 10:51:35

    Wow, looks who’s getting gourmet! Sea salt to any sweet treat is my favorite thing — I bet you could even find some kind of whole grain rice cripsy at Mother’s or Trader Joes… no? I’m stretching too far there? Well it will probably be available some day…

    Reply

  2. Renee larkins
    May 22, 2014 @ 11:08:57

    I remember! I remember! Yummy and you Are the worlds best BigSister!!

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    May 24, 2014 @ 17:48:15

    This brings me back too — I remember you making a batch of Krispy treats when I was a kid and we would always finish them off almost immediately. That and your cookies too. (Sugar? What sugar?) yours always tasted miiiiiiles better than packaged treats (yuck! Mushy, bland, tasteless). This is such a great idea with the browned butter and salt — I personally think salt makes everything taste better. Definitely gotta try it.

    Reply

    • bakermom
      May 24, 2014 @ 19:04:43

      I remember those days when we just ate what we ate without worrying about sugar or calories or where our food came from. Ah, the good ol’ days. Shout it from the rooftops “You don’t have to buy it prepackaged! Its better home made and only takes minutes!”

      Reply

I'd like to hear from you!

Archives

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

