Deluxe tuna and noodles

(Any minute now I am going to make a batch to take the picture.)

I have had tuna and noodle casserole all my life. It is one of my favorite comfort foods. It was my deep sorrow that no one in my family liked it but me, so I hardly ever bothered to make it. Then bless my soul if my youngest son, Paul, didn’t up and decide he loved it too! Hurray! It is a standby quick meal that my Aunt Jo Ann makes almost every I see her. (which isn’t near often enough now that she lives in Alabama and I am in SoCal.) Hers tuna and noodles  just has a little extra something (I think its the love she puts in it.) So I wanted to share her recipe here.

As a side note, although she is my Aunt, she is only 7 years older than me, more like an older sister really and as a small child, she would have to baby-sit me at  times. (I was an only child back then.) If she had to cook for me, it was Franco American Spaghetti every time. Breakfast, lunch or dinner. She has been my role model for pasta-appreciation all my life . As she grew up, her pasta skills grew as well, becoming spaghetti, tuna and noodles, mac and cheese, spaghetti salad. Of course, now that she runs a bed and breakfast and caters, I am sure her pasta repertoire has grown in leaps and bounds. But when I come to visit, there has to be at least 1 meal of her wonderful, creamy tuna and noodles. (which, by the way, she named 2 of her cats after at one time.) Add a simple bag of salad and there you go!

So it is simple and quick.

  • a package of pasts, like bow-tie, shell, elbow
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup (not the garlic one! I hate to tell you how I know this)
  • 1 can evaporated milk and more real milk as needed.
  • 1 or 2 cans of tuna, depending on your tuna madness
  • 1/2 onion diced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • frozen corn or peas (or both!)
  • 1 hardboiled egg, diced
  • (secret ingredient) a chunk of Velveeta, about 1 inch of the loaf, cubed

Boil the water for pasta and cood according to package.

Open the soup, tuna and evap milk. Drain the tuna. Dice the onion, get out the veggies.

In a small skillet, melt the butter and add the tuna and onion. Saute for a couple minutes. In a saucepan, put the evap. milk and soup, blending and heating. Add the cubed Velveeta and stir until melted. Add the tuna/onion mixture, frozen veggies and the diced egg to the soup.  If it seems too thick, add a little milk to thin in out.  Pour the cooked pasta and soup-sauce gently together, into a casserole pan, like a 9 x 13 baking dish.

bake at 350 until bubbly, not long, maybe 20 minutes.

Or just eat it right out of the pan, because who really wants to wait. No ones looking, go ahead.

2 thoughts on “Deluxe tuna and noodles

  1. You sweet girl, I had forgotten how much I love this dish. Just reading it brought tears to my eyes and a need to my stomach. Perhaps I will make some. I don’t suppose you would come over and share it with me? I will let you photograph the food as long as it doesn’t take more than 3 minutes, because that is how long I can wait to eat.
    Your frozen tomato thing works really well. Who knew?

  2. One of my favorites. I remember my mom making it. Even now, when she makes it for her house, she makes an extra dish to send my way. Maybe I will make my own, it sure sounds good right now!

I'd like to hear from you!

