Rhubarb Madness has struck!

So, here I am in my far middle years (ahem) and I have never even had rhubarb pass my lips! Now my oldest son comes home from New Zealand with a recipe for apple rhubarb crisp that he actually helped make at someones farmhouse  he had been working at. He wants to make it for us. Well, we haven’t been able to obtain any rhubarb for him to make this wonderful awesomeness.  But today, yep, my youngest and I were running errands and there it was, skinny red stalks of rhubarb-ness in all its glory.

So, since sonny-jim was at work, I had to look up some recipes. Wow, only about 500 to pick from.  Einie-meiney-miney-moe.

Turns out I hit a winner right out of the gate. (I made only a few minor alterations) Here we go. I will pass along the recipe I found online for:

OH-my-gosh-goodness!

Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble

Topping:

  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons Demerara sugar (or turbinado sugar)
  • 1/4 pound (1 stick or 4 ounces) unsalted butter, melted

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups rhubarb, chopped into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 quart strawberries plus a few extras, hulled, quartered
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons cornstarch
  • Pinch of salt

1. Heat oven to 375°F. Prepare topping: In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, sugars and add the melted butter. Mix until small and large clumps form. Refrigerate until needed.

2. Prepare filling: Toss rhubarb, strawberries, lemon juice, sugar, cornstarch and a pinch of salt in a bowl with a wooden spoon. Then I spooned it into a Pampered Chef Deep Dish Baker. (You could use a 9″ baking dish)

3. Remove topping from refrigerator and cover fruit thickly and evenly with topping. Place pan on a parchment lined baking sheet, and bake until crumble topping is golden brown in places and fruit is bubbling beneath, about 45 to 50 minutes.

Then you use the cleaned wooden spoon to start beating people back long enough for it to cool off. (oh, heck, forget cleaning it) I cant wait to try another recipe using this stuff!

boy, I turn my back for one minute
I'd like to hear from you!

