Quick Sticky Buns

 

So, I am going to a breakfast potluck thingy about, oh, 8 years ago. I wanted something fantastic, but not too complicated. I looked in the Pillsbury bake-off booklet of mine and there it was!  No need to raise the dough, only takes about 10 minutes to make. This was so wonderful, everyone wanted the recipe. So here it is, whoever and wherever you all are.

2 1/2 Tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed – divided use
2 tbsp light corn syrup
1/3 cup coarsely chopped nuts
2 (8-ounce) tube refrigerated crescent roll dough
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Preheat oven to 375. Get out a round cake pan (or square 8″ pan if you want)
In a small saucepan, melt the butter and add half the brown sugar and all of the syrup. Stir together and heat until bubbly, then stop. Sprinkle in the nuts. If you roll the nuts into the cinnamon rolls, chances are they are going to fall out anyway, so we just put them into the syrup, voila! Pour this wonderful elixir into the cake pan.

Pop open the crescent can. I know this is the funnest part. Get the back of a spoon and press against the crack until-poof! Come to mama! Roll out the crescent dough onto a floured cutting board or surface. Press the perforated edges, squish and rub them with your fingers to make them go away. You want one long piece of dough.
Mix the rest of the brown sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle dough with half of the brown sugar and cinnamon mix. Spread it to the edges. you don’t need to butter the dough like in normal cinnamon rolls, because the dough already has so much fat in it. I just use my fingers to spread the sugar. (did I tell you how much I love the Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus?←click here). Start at the short side and roll the dough back up tightly. Blend the edge in with the dough so it wont unroll. Cut into 8 one inch rounds. In other words, cut in half, cut those in half, then those in half. Repeat with the other can of dough.
 
Place the rounds (should we call them cinnamon rolls yet?) into the pan, laying them gently over the syrup.

*Pop them into your preheated oven. Bake until lightly golden brown, about 20-25 minutes. Cool 1 minute then invert onto a serving plate. This recipe is easy to double and you probably should. I can eat 1 pan full just myself. Well, I think I can.

 

Bottoms up! I Like that I can see through the glass

 

*I have a habit of putting any baking pan (bread, pies,etc) on a larger cookie sheet, usually lined with parchment. This keeps the bottoms of things from burning and any overflow from burning on the bottom of the oven.
"I dare you to resist me"
4 thoughts on “Quick Sticky Buns

  1. Thank you Porsha! Let me know if you make the sticky buns and how you love them. I have not really ‘launched’ this site yet and do not know how to send out newsletters. when I get that far, you will be the first to know.

I'd like to hear from you!

