Grannies Buttermilk Pancakes

Hot off the griddle!

 My all time favorite breakfast when I was a sprout, was my grandmas buttermilk pancakes. Even though it was my mom making them most of the time, it was grandmas pancakes! They were usually very thin and tender. I could eat as many as I was allowed and of course, I was a bottomless pit in those days. Like all growing kids.

I have made them for years with have no written recipe. I am going to give it to you here the way I usually do it, by the seat of my pants.(eww) Afterward, I will add measurements from another recipe I found very similar to my grandmas.

First, get your ingredients together. There are not very many. Go grab a couple chicken eggs from the coop. (okay, or the fridge, sheesh)

You will need some flour, a little salt, baking soda, and, of course, buttermilk.

break the eggs into a bowl and mix well. Now add buttermilk. About 1 cup or more. I use more, because I am feeding more. You may be feeding less, so just put in however much you want. But it should probably be at least 1 cup. You will be adding flour until it is the right consistency.

So anyway, you have the eggs in a bowl, you have added some buttermilk, about 1-1 1/2 cups worth. Now you are adding your dry ingredients. I add it all right into the bowl But you can do this: Put 1 cup flour into a measuring cup. Add about 3/4 tsp. of baking soda* and about 1/2 tsp of salt. (Try measuring it and then pouring it into the palm of your hand so you can see how much it is. Get used to measuring this way as well as the usual teaspoonish way.) Mix those dry ingredients together and mix into the buttermilk bowl. Whisk it all together, but only just. It should still have some lumps in it and that is okay.

here goes the baking soda, see the flour already in there?

Now look at the consistency. Hmm, it is too thick? Too thin? You will probably need to add more flour at first.A heaping spoonful at a time.

This batter is thin, just the way I like it.

So, flour, baking soda, salt, eggs, buttermilk. Got all that? Now let the batter rest for a few minutes before cooking. It will thicken up a bit. You can be heating up your skillet in the mean time.

Now check it out. Too thick? Add a little more buttermilk. Too thin? Add a little more flour. Be sure to only add a little more flour or buttermilk at a time.  I usually spray my skillet with non-stick, and pour a little vegy oil in, about 1 Tblsp. 

start heating

 Let it get real hot, but not smoking hot. You want it to go SPHISSST when the batter hits the pan.  

Practice sacrificial mimmis.

I put a couple drops of batter into see if it is hot enough. Pour in the batter. Keep your flame or heat at middle/low heat. Keep your eyes open and flip when it starts to brown underneath. You can either put on your x-ray vision glasses, or peek with a spatula.

Peek-a-boo! opps, umm too long maybe, quick, turn it!

There you go. Only 5 ingredients. The more flour you add, the thicker the pancakes will be. Personal preference. Pour some grade B syrup over them, oh man!! I was so busy eating them, I forgot to take another picture.

*I almost forgot. Grandma did not add baking soda straight into the flour. She put it into a little dixie cup, poured in just a little water to thin it out. I remember her swirling the cup to disolve the baking soda. Then she would add it to the pancake batter, last thing. Then she would let it rest.

Below is a copy of a similar recipe to compare measurements. It makes a bit more than mine. You will also notice more ingredients like sugar and melted butter. Its great that way too, but its not grandma Helen’s original way, so I refrained from adding them. Suite yourselves as far as that goes.

 

 

BUTTERMILK PANCAKES

2 1/4 cups (10 ounces) unbleached, all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons, baking powder
1/2 teaspoon, baking soda
1/2 teaspoon, salt
4 teaspoons, sugar
2 tablespoons, butter – melted
2 large eggs
2 1/2 cups, buttermilk

Add all your dry ingredients together in one bowl. Add the wet ingredients into another bowl. Pour wet into the dry, mixing until just blended. Let rest 5 minutes or so. Cook as above.

If you want, replace some all purpose flour with  some whole wheat, or drop some blueberries onto each pancake before you flip it over. If you mix them into the batter, it tends to turn it grey. Still tastes good thought.  If  you run out of buttermilk and want to thin the batter out more, use milk, yogurt or sour cream. Be creative with  your toppings and use a variety of syrup, like blueberry or blackberry or do like at Aunt Jo Anns does and use syrup with pecans. Don’t forget some bacon!

I'd like to hear from you!

