Nutty Onion Green Beans

 

Contrary to rumors my hubby might spread around, I do, indeed, cook vegetables. And I serve them with paperclips. Okay, I have no idea why that is there. But anyway, I had gone to a farm stand and bought some fresh green beans (and corn and strawberries and watermelon and …)

I am always finding yummy ways to make green beans and have several favorites. (I never, ever serve them plain, heavens to Betsy). Here is a new one I found in one of my Taste of Home Classics cookbook. We fought over the last beans on this one…

  • 1/2 lb. green beans, cut in half
  • 1 small onion, sliced into rings
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans (if you need some, call aunty Jo Ann)
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp orange juice (ah-ha, the secret ingredient)
  • 1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard.
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Put the beans in a saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil and cook, uncovered, for 8-10 minutes or until crisp-tender. Drain and set aside.

In the meantime, in a skillet, cook onions and pecans in butter until onion is tender (I admit here, I gave the onions a bit of a head start, adding the pecans after 3-4 minutes.)  In a small bowl, combine sugar, juice, mustard and salt. Stir into the onion mixture. Cook 2-3 minutes longer until sauce begins to thicken. Stir in beans, heat through. That’s it! Enjoy!

I'd like to hear from you!

