Shrimp Scampi

(Here is a 5 year old post that needs freshening up. Its still useful and just needed a little updating, as in zucchini noodles.)

It’s another Friday night and I need a meatless dinner idea. So of course, I go to my blog. I take into account it is enormously hot out and that is not very inspiring. Lets add some hot flashed to that and sweat slithering down my back and face. So I had better keep it simple. Didn’t I see a bag of Trader Joes shrimp collecting hoarfrost in the deep freeze? Well, what can I do with that today? I have often made a shrimp scampi pizza, recipe courtesy of California Pizza Kitchen cookbook on my shelf. But really, its something Phil and I share, not so much my other men. That and I have no pizza dough on hand.So I looked up a couple of recipes, took what I had on hand and made this wonderful dish, in no time flat! It really belongs in the easy-peasy category. Here is what I used:

  • 1/3 cup clarified butter (actually, the rest of the jar I had, see note below, don’t panic, regular butter will do)
  • 1/3 cup Vermouth (white wine is called for but I was out)
  • about 6 cloves garlic, minced fine, or jarred minced garlic and/or garlic paste. I used a combination.
  • 1 diced green onion
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh parsley, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • ‘some’ slivered sun-dried tomatoes (or I sometimes use peas, mushrooms, just something for color)
  • grated Parmesan for the top
  • salt and pepper, of course
  • 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp, give or take. I had a bag of frozen. Fresh, cleaned would do even better.
  • your choice of pasta, I used thin wheat blend spaghetti. Angle hair or rice goes good too.
  • now I add zucchini noodles to mix in with the pasta or just used straight. You can julienne them or use some other noodly making device. I just got a brand new vegy stripper from Pampered Chef I am dying to try tonight.

For starters get the water boiling for the pasta. Or cook up some rice to pour this over. This meal does not take long. Cook pasta according to directions.

Noodle-fy some zucchini. I put them into a stoneware crock, using my round covered baker, and microwave it for a few minutes, depending on how many zuc’s you julienned or noodled. After 3 or 4 minutes I check them, drain them and set aside, covered until needed. You can mix them in with the pasta,  or use them straight, depending on your diet of choice.

While the water is heating, do what you need to the shrimp. If it is fresh, clean it or if it is frozen,  defrost it under cold running water in a colander.

Dice your garlic, sliver your sun-dried tomatoes, (Mine, by the way, were from a jar covered in olive oil and seasoning. I took out the tomatoes, laid them on paper towels, put more towels on top and pressed out some of the oil. Yours might be dehydrated), dice the green onion and  parsley (or used dried or skip entirely if you have none, it is mostly for looks). Okay, everything diced or minced?

Next, get out a skillet and put in the butter. If you do not happen to have clarified butter,  use unsalted cubed butter. Or salted, but taste at the end before adding more salt. I probably ended up using a whole cube of butter for my crew.

Warm the butter to melting and add the garlic. Saute a minute, add the wine, lemon juice, tomato, shrimp, am I forgetting anything? Saute until the shrimp is pink, unless of course, you are using cooked shrimp, in which case put in last just to warm them up. Add your wine and simmer for 1 minute.

Taste it and add salt and pepper as needed.

Hopefully the pasta is done by now and sitting in a strainer. As I put some pasta on each plate, I put shrimp and sauce over it, sprinkling Parmesan and then the greens over it (scallion and parsley). If not using them as noodles, you can side it with some sautéed zucchini, just diced and sautéed in olive oil with salt, italian seasoning and a sprinkle of parmesan. Got a thumbs up around here!

I'd like to hear from you!

