My own teriyaki bowl

Last nights dinner was scrumptious! I learned to make sticky rice for one thing. Usually I use a long grain rice for everything , or a short, brown rice, which is wonderful too. But this kind of sticky-ness I was looking for had eluded me. No more!

Then I kinda used an Americas Test Kitchen recipe,  technique really, to make the flap steak into teriyaki. Add some steamed veggies, scallions and sesame seeds and enjoy deep teriyaki contentment in front of our own TV, watching Gilligan’s Island that hubby had bought all three seasons of. “Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip…” (I’d give good money to be able to reach into my head and pull that song out for good.)

The rice I used was a store brand of calrose medium grain rice. I put 1 1/2 cups rice in a pan, without rinsing first. Then I poured in 2 3/4 cup (a little less than double the amount of rice) of cold water, put it on the stove with no lid and turned up the heat. I stirred occasionally.  When it started boiling, I popped on the lid, turned down the heat and set the timer for 15 minutes. No more stirring. After that I would peek and when the water is all absorbed, that’s it. It took a few minutes more than the 15 for me. Turn off the heat and get ready to serve it. Don’t need to stir or fluff it up, since you want it stickey.

The flank steak I had put into a ziplock with some teriyaki sauce from a bottle and let it sit for an hour. Meanwhile I heated up the barbecue.  I took the meat out, patting with a paper towel and set it on a tray with a bowl having more sauce in it and a basting brush. Took all this out to the barbe.

Cooked the flank steak pieces for about 3-4 minutes per side. Then basted them with sauce, turned it, basted the other side, turned it again, counted to oh, 20 and took them all off.

Once in the kitchen again, (did I mention I had been steaming the veggies?) I put the steak pieces on a cutting board. I cut against the grain and at a 45 degree angle, cutting it into bite size pieces.

Spoon out the rice, lay on the meat and veggies, pour a little more sauce over all, sprinkle with the toasted sesame seeds I forgot to tell you about and some diced scallions. Really easy dinner. And man, wonderful! Wish I could make it again tonight.

3 thoughts on “My own teriyaki bowl

I'd like to hear from you!

