Sticky Toffee Pudding

Now, the first time I had toffee pudding was in a British pub, in orange county maybe, but British none the less. I immediately fell in love and took back all the nasty things I have said or thought about Britain’s contributions to the culinary arts, or lack thereof.

I found a recipe online some time ago and saved it, thinking one of these days I would really make it, but thinking in the back of my mind that I probably never really would, for one reason, because it uses dates. I never have bought dates. But I stored it away, not in my wildest dreams thinking I would have this food blog some day and would want to try some of those things I have been putting off making.

Then, just the other day, there were dates in the produce section, and my guardian angel (I call her Rose), gave me a sharp nudge in the memory dept. She practically threw the dates my way so I bought them and made this dessert for dinner, the dinner with the cheese puffs.

This was way popular.

We ate the whole pan, save for one small piece. I already want to make it again. ugh! sooooo good! Ate too much!

shhh. the secret ingredient is the dates (and lots of sugar of course)

Here you go, easy, wonderful. Cooks like a cake, but is moist and called a pudding.

1 cup and 1 tablespoon all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 cup pitted dates
7 tablespoons unsalted butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-1/4 cup boiling water
5 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
2 tablespoons heavy cream
whipped cream for topping
 
Heat the oven to 350° F. Butter an 8×8″ baking dish.
Sift the flour and baking powder onto a sheet of waxed paper or into a bowl; set aside. Chop the dates fine; toss with 1 tablespoon flour in a small bowl.
Beat 4 tablespoons of butter and 3/4 cup sugar in large bowl until mixture is light and fluffy. Beat in the egg along with a little of the flour mixture; beat for 1 minute. Beat in remaining flour mixture.

Add dates, baking soda and vanilla to the 1-1/4 cups boiling water, stirring to combine; add to batter, beating until well blended. Pour batter into a prepared baking dish; bake until set and well browned on top, 20-30 minutes, only just done.  Remove from oven to wire rack.

Heat broiler. Heat remaining 3 tablespoons butter, the brown sugar and the 2 tablespoons heavy cream in a small heavy saucepan over medium heat to simmering; simmer until thickened, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat; pour topping over pudding. Place pudding in broiler, about 4 inches from source of heat; broil until top bubbly, about 1 minute.

Serve warm with whipped cream.

 
 
I'd like to hear from you!

