Feather Light Muffins

Quite a few years back I found this recipe in a taste of home magazine, made it and loved it. Then I saw it again in my MOPPS cookbook. Since then it has popped up all over the place. What I remember most about them is that they were my daughters favorite muffins. Mine too. Imagine these warm out of the oven, cinnamon sugar melting in your mouth. Better than a doughnut! (and not to be confused with “feather light doughnuts” which I will be making this weekend. Check back with me then!)

  • 1/3 cup shortening (I use butter)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour (or all purpose)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup milk

Preheat your oven to 325.

In a mixing bowl and with a hand mixer, cream shortening (or butter, room temp.) with the sugar and the egg.

In a large measuring cup or another bowl, mix the dry ingredients together. Now, add some of the dry ingredients to the batter, then some milk, then some dry, then the rest of the milk. Do not whip to death, just mix gently. You do not really want to develop a lot of gluten. (Cake flour has a very low protein level and does not produce much gluten. But if you don’t have it and use all purpose, just don’t over mix.)

Fill your oil sprayed muffin cups about 2/3 full of batter. Bake 20-25 minutes until just golden.

let cool for 3-4 minutes, Then, wave your magic wand and give it the pizazz that makes this muffin awe inspiring.

  • melt a half a cube of butter in a bowl.
  • mix 1/2 cup of sugar with 1 tsp cinnamon in another bowl.

You can now

A) Dip the top of the muffins in the butter and then dip and swirl around in the sugar and set on a plate.

or

B) Dip the whole darn naked muffin (without its paper skirts) into melted butter and roll the whole thing in the sugar. You will need a whole cube of butter for this one. My original recipe called for this, but I think just dipping the tops were plenty good.

To really substitute for the cake flour, you can put 1 Tbsp corn starch in a 1/2 cup measuring cup. Then fill the rest of the way with all purpose flour. Do this for each 1/2 flour used. I admit, I don’t do that as a rule. Too lazy. I just use all purpose. Maybe its not quite as light, but no one here seems to notice.

Such tranquility. Like I feel after one of these muffins
I'd like to hear from you!

