Pot Roast, an old friend

Can you stop eating for one second so I can get a picture??

Got a chunk of chuck roast needing to be cooked? Maybe it was found in the back of the freezer, maybe it was on sale.  We can turn that chunk of beef into a melt in your mouth comfort meal. It will take a while, I developed a few new wrinkles while I was waiting for it. But I’m not always in a hurry,( just 98% of the time) and good things are worth waiting for, right?

So, first you put some all purpose flour onto a plate and dip your chunk of beef into it, all around all sides. That’s called dredging, my sweet.

Get your favorite large dutch oven or pot out, spray it with non stick and put some oil in the bottom. Turn on the heat and get it really hot.

Drop the meat in (gently, not from a height or anything, silly) and brown about 5 minutes on each side.

In the mean time get out the following:

  • beef broth, about 1 cup
  • 1 onion, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 package onion soup mix
  • carrots, peeled and cut into large pieces
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar this time)
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce

There, when the  meat is browned, add the onions and carrots to the pot to brown too for a couple minutes, then add all the rest of the ingredients. Put on a lid, turn down the heat. You want it on a very low simmer. Some people put it into the oven at this point, but not me. I left it on a very low heat for 3 hours at least! This was a thick piece of meat after all and I wanted to melt out the tough connective tissues. Long, slow heat.(sounds like a racy romance novel!)  After the first hour, I skewed the lid so there was a crack to let the steam out. This helps reduce the sauce inside into a smooth, thick, wonderfullness. If it runs out of liquid that’s a little too thick, so add some, about 1/4 cup of water at a time as needed. I added a little when I added the potatoes. I had peeled about 5 potatoes and quartered them. Cook another 30-40 minutes until the potatoes are done.

Now, take everything (meat and veggies) out of the pan and onto a platter to keep warm while you make the gravy. You heard me, the gravy baby! See all that scarry black burnt stuff on the bottom of your beloved pan? Add a heaping 1/4 cup of flour to it to cook for 1 minute. Now add 1 cup of water and let it cook, whisking constantly. It only takes a few minutes to thicken up. Taste it before adding salt, it might not need much. Don’t be afraid to add a little more liquid if you feel it needs it.

All gone, but for some sauted zuchinni. going back for seconds.

Slice up the meat, add some potatoes, drizzle the gravy over all. Side with a salad and a baguette to dip into the sauce. Wow, this was a wonderful, comfort food type meal and very unlike me because it did not have wine or tomatoes, which seem to go into everything I make. It was great without it. Enjoy!

Love L

I'd like to hear from you!

