Fried Rice, Linda style

Now here is a simple version of fried rice. Or maybe I should rename it “cleaning out the fridge rice”, because it comes out the same.

One of our favorite meals, especially for a quick “I-am-tired-and-don’t-want-to-bother-tonight” dinner.

I make my fried rice, steam some from-the-freezer Goyza rolls and Trader Joe’s Orange chicken. Oh, yum!

the idea is to plan ahead and make your rice early so you can chill it. That what my mom does. That’s what you should do. Do I ever plan ahead that far? Not usually. But I make my rice and dump it out onto a cookie sheet to cool quickly if needed.

Now for years I have followed the standard “1 part rice/2 parts water” rule. But I dont like my rice for fried rice that way. Its almost like each little grain of  rice explodes or something. So I reduced the water and now use  say, 1 cup rice to 1 1/2 cups water. I like it better that way. Sometimes I use medium grain, like Cal rose rice. More often than not, I use long grain because a while back my hubby got it into his head to buy a boatload of rice, I think 50 lbs? Which I store in the garage and fill a jar in the kitchen as needed. Anyway, make some rice for frying, as much as your family needs. I can never make too much.

You will also want:

  • soy sauce
  • sesame oil
  • at least 1 egg to scramble
  • some diced onion and/or scallion
  • frozen peas, about 1/2 cup
  • some dried garlic, or minced, right from the jar, maybe 1/2 tsp.
  • sesame seeds (if I happen to have any)

Now that above is my basic start-with ingredients. What you add from there depends on whats available. I love to put in some leftover chicken, diced. I almost always cook up a few slices of bacon to crumble and add, cooking the rice in some of the bacon fat. But I was out of both last night.

 So I had some shrimp in the freezer,  I took out a handful to thaw. I also had some leftover cooked sausage which I diced and threw in. If I had had some cashews, I would have put them in too. But I did not. I had part of an onion and 1 lone scallion from last year still in my herb garden. I cut off one of its spears to add too.

So, gather your ingredients, cooled (?) rice, soy sauce, etc and get out a big skillet

Spray the skillet with non stick and add about 1 tbsp oil. Heat until…hot. Scramble the egg in a bowl and pour that in the pan to fry up. When done you can remove it, setting aside, and add the other veggies, meat, nuts, seeds whatever. Saute until everything is hot and cooked. Now add the rice, the egg back in and now pour about 2 tbsp sesame oil over all and enough soy sauce to make you happy. I don’t measure, just drizzle over the rice. Mix it up with your cool bamboo spatula, over a low heat. Taste. Need more soy? just drizzle in some more.

That’s about it. In the meantime I fried some gyoza in a skillet for 3 minutes, put about 1 tbsp water in the pan and put a lid on it to steam 3-4 minutes. Served them with a dipping sauce. Took the orange chicken out of the oven and poured the pouches of sauce over the nuggets. How easy is that?

Use chopsticks, oriental secret to staying skinny

PS> I still like your fried rice more, mom!

I'd like to hear from you!

