Tortilla Eggs for breaky

Hey there Mr/Ms Hungry. Looking for  something new for breakfast? And do you happen to have some corn tortillas laying around? Well, have I got just the thing for you! A dear friend showed me this one years ago. You need:

  • a couple corn tortillas
  • 3-4 eggs
  • some diced onion or shallots (1 Tbsp or so)
  • milk for the eggs
  • 2-3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/2  ripe tomato, diced

Start by cutting the tortillas into bite sized pieces.

 

Dice the onions and tomatoes. Scramble the eggs into a bowl and add some milk. (maybe 2 Tbsp).  Get a frying pan hot with some butter in it.

 

When the butter is melted, add the tortillas. Fry them up until crispy brown. if you need to, add a little more butter until they are crispy.

just before done, add onions or shallots
Add the eggs

 Add the diced onion or shallots to the tortillas just when they start to brown. Then after a couple minuted, pour in the eggs and stir over a gentle heat until done.

thats me, gently stirring

Add the tomatoes, then some cheese if you like and that’s about it.  I like to serve it with salsa on top. Whatever floats you egg boat! Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Tortilla Eggs for breaky

  1. funny too, because the next week, I got a “food’ magazine and there was my egg recipe! Almost excatly the same.

I'd like to hear from you!