Pumpkin Muffins

Boy, as I am looking at this I am thinking “I sure wish I could remember where I got that recipe”. They were wonderful, soft and spicy. I took a tray of them to the scouts meeting to hand out “scouting for food” door tags.  They were all lingering around a street corner that morning, waiting to be let loose on the unsuspecting public, handing out tags to every house in the neighborhood. I thought this would be  a warm treat for them, and they were gone before I got home. Everyone seemed to love them. (okay, I ate 3, now its out there…)

Ah ha! I found it.

It was in my Taste of Home Baking book.

Now you might notice that white stuff, like patches of snow, in the picture.  That was supposed to be streusel topping. That did not work so well. You are supposed to use cold butter to cut into the sugar and flour to make streusel.  Well, I used soft butter, which made a kind of paste. Which ended up looking like snowy patches on the muffins instead of streusel. So I guess I don’t know better than the book.

You really should try these. And maybe use cake or pastry flour for at least 1/2 the flour. That alone gives it pillow softness.

Here you go, get your bowls ready! Stoke up the wood stove!

Pumpkin Muffins:

  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup canned pumpkin (I used Trader Joe’s organic pumpkin)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 2 Tbsp molasses
  • 1 tsp. grated orange peel
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp (or so) of pumpkin pie spice (which I did not have, so used cinnamon plus, a dash of extra nutmeg and some allspice)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Steusel topping:

  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp cold butter (learn from mamas mistakes)

In a large mixing bowl, cram butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the pumpkin, buttermilk , eggs, molasses and orange Peel. Mix well. Combine the dry ingredients and gradually add to the pumpkin mixture just until blended.  Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups 2/3 full.

For topping, combine flour and sugar in a bowl, cutting in the butter until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle over batter.

Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes. col for 5 minutes before removing from pan to wire rack. (or tummy)

Yum, one more wouldn't hurt...
I'd like to hear from you!

