Fish Tacos, adapted (with a few words from “Ladyhawke”)

Imperius: What do you want?
Phillipe: I was told to bring you this bird. It’s been wounded.
Imperius: Oh, good shot! Bring it in, we’ll dine together.
Phillipe: We can’t eat this bird.
Imperius: What? Oh God, is it Lent again already?
Well, not lent, just yet another meatless friday for us. Bet you don’t know where that quote came from, do you?
 Ever see the movie “Ladyhawke”? Its old. Its unusual. It has Matthew Broderick, Rutger Hauer and Michelle Pfeiffer.
You can watch it while you eat your fish tacos.
This is a quicky fish tacos. Whats a fast fish? Black Marlin tacos. (not really)
One lone taco. He needs another buddy.
I get frozen fish from Trader Joes, crispy breaded fish fillets. Turn the oven on to 400 degrees, put them on a baking pan and pop them into the oven. While they are baking…
First I take a small scoop of sour cream and a scoop of mayo and put into a bowl. Sprinkle in some taco seasoning, squeeze in some lime juice. If I had some cilantro, I would dice  it up and put some in. But I didn’t. Mores the pity.
Now normally I would have shredded some cabbage, but neither one of us wanted to go to the store just for cabbage when we had everything else, so I just used lettuce and you know what? It didn’t kill us. They were fine as is.
So, the fish baked and I sliced it up.
I heated some oil and fried up the corn tortillas, laying them on a napkin. Now the assembly:
Fish in the taco shell.
Sour cream sauce,
Guacamole if you have it.
Salsa.
Lettuce.
Cheese.
More cheese.
Now eat it with a side of rice or refried beans and tortilla chips.
Enjoy the movie. Matthew Broderick plays a clever and somewhat pitiful thief who escapes from a dungeon. Michelle Pfeiffer is a hawk by day and a beautiful woman by night. Her main squeeze is the spooky Rutger Hauer who turns into a wolf by night and a studly knight type by day. The story is odd but “Phillipe” adds the humor and cleverness it needed.
 Here is some more quotes.
Imperius: I fully expect to meet you at the pearly gates little  thief, and don’t
you dare disappoint me.
Phillipe:
 I’ll meet you there  father, even if I have to pick the lock.
Phillipe: What is your quest?
Etienne Navarre: I must kill a man.
Phillipe: Tell me – does this walking corpse have a name?
Etienne Navarre: His Grace, the Bishop of Aquila.
Etienne Navarre: I need you to guide me into the city.
Phillipe: Not for the life of my mother! Even if I knew who she was.
Etienne Navarre: You are the only one who has ever escaped from there.
Phillipe: It was chance! Pure chance! A miracle! Once in a lifetime! I fell down a hole and followed my nose!
[after picking someone’s pocket]
Phillipe: I know I promised, Lord, never again. But I also know that YOU know what a weak-willed person I am.
Phillipe: Sir, the truth is I talk to God all the time, and no offense, but He never mentioned you.
One thought on “Fish Tacos, adapted (with a few words from “Ladyhawke”)

  1. Not a fan of fish tacos, but I LOVE “Ladyhawke”. I may have to watch that again very soon.

    When Phillipe is squeezing through that very small opening in a grate, I love his line, “This is not unlike escaping mother’s womb…God, what a memory.” (Or something akin to that!)

I'd like to hear from you!

