Taming of the Shrew over enchiladas

Tonight we watched the incomparable Liz Taylor/Richard Burton duo in Shakespeares “Taming of the Shrew”. I had never seen it and concluded that it was the most un-feminist story I have ever encountered.

I loved it.

The costumes were amazing. I was nibbling on my chicken enchiladas (courtesy of the Pioneer Womans cookbook) and trying to keep up with the old English. I had seen a “Kiss Me Kate” production in high school and it must have been memorable, because it was all those years ago and I still remembered that I went. I can’t say that for all the plays and movies I had had the misfortune to sit through.

But this one was delightful. I see too many untamed shrews on our screens and in our public places. This was certainly a breath of fresh air.

Katerina starts early on with “Of all things living, a man’s the worst!” and by the end her tune has changed to “Such duty as the subject owes the prince.”

All this and not by Petruchio (Burton)  wooing her with soft words. You do not tame a shrew, it would seem, with soft words and sensitive conversation. On the contrary, her father has to bribe him with rich dowry to made the deal sweet. Where everyone else ducks and runs for cover from her, he says from the first, “Will you, nill you, I will marry you.” and then proceeds to chase her all over the estate, while she runs, screams and throws things at him, once even kicking a chair out from under him.

I think it’s a hoot.

Enjoyed the enchiladas too. Catch them at:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/09/simple-perfect-enchiladas/

It’s also in her cookbook. I am not such an enchilada fan, but this one I will actually have seconds on. And eat leftovers!

One thought on “Taming of the Shrew over enchiladas

  1. Love, love, love this movie and you know I don’t typically do movies. This version is the only one enjoy. I even let my Lit students watch parts of it in class. Liz Taylor is the PERFECT shrew. Now, I have to go dredge up a copy and watch it again!

I'd like to hear from you!

