Oh Bananas!

This morning I woke up to the realization that these organic bananas I bought to have with my yogurt and granola were past their prime and well on the way to gnat-hood and an early death. I hadn’t even eaten one yet! Guess I dwaddled. So I peeled them, broke them in half and put them in a freezer bag. I am going to take these wholesome, nutritious fruit of the tropics, freeze them and, when the time is right, turn them into decadent cream cheese banana bread with streusel topping, or banana-chip muffins. I should be arrested for what I will do to them. On one hand I elevate them to glorious breakfast/dessert treat, but on the other, cover them in sugar and white flour, bringing them low on the healthful eating spectrum. Ah well. I could make a smoothie out of them. That would help them to maintain their dignity of healthfulness. It’s just frozen bananas, o.j., frozen strawberries, blueberries or whatever fruit I have handy with a few ice cubes. Brrrzzzrp in the blender. Voila. What? It’s too cold out for smoothies? Well, back to banana bread.

Actually, tonight it’s pumpkin, pecan and pear-cranberry pies so I better get busy.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ALL!

I'd like to hear from you!

