Bavarian Sugar Cookies with Cream Cheese Icing

Have any of you watched “Stranger Than Fiction”?

If so, you may remember these. Only I added sprinkles for no particular reason. There is actually no recipe for Bavarian Sugar Cookies. I think the script writer made them up.

So when I went online recently, after having watched the movie for the umpteenth time, to see about that particular cookie recipe, guess what I found instead?

Other bloggers doing the same thing. People having seen the movie,  tried to find a recipe, couldn’t and wrote about it on their blogs, like me. They also included recipes adapted for the Bavarian Sugar Cookie. So have I.

First, here is an excerpt from an earlier post about my favorite part in the movie:

While we are talking about flours, have you seen the movie “Stranger than Fiction”? It is one of my favorite movies by virtue of having a baker as one of its main characters. Well, main supporting characters anyway. In the movie  Harold Crick, the main character, wants to announce his intentions to a woman he was auditing (yes, he is an IRS agent), by bringing her a bouquet of “flours”. He brings her a box full of little 1 lb. bags of assorted flours, wheat, rye, buckwheat, etc. For being a boring, methodical, most unromantic guy, this is a huge leap and it melted my heart, (and hers). He indeed won his lady fair.

Okay, I would say that Maggie Gyllenhaal wasn’t exactly fair in this movie. More like her arms were covered in big tattoos and she wore less than glamorous work clothes, cause she was a baker, see, and a tough cookie to boot. Anyway, where was I…

Here is my version of Stranger than Fiction Bavarian Sugar Cookies:

(If I had “Fiori di Sicilia” from King Arthur flour co., I would use that as the flavoring, absolutely. A friend of mine gave me some cookies she made with these, ricotta cookies, and they sent me into cookie heaven. But I don’t have it yet, so improvised).

2 cups flour

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

1 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp baking soda

3 egg yolks

few drops of lemon extract

1/2 tsp. Bakers Sweet Dough flavoring (from King Arthur, or use vanilla)

Mix butter and sugars with standing or hand mixer until thoroughly blended. Add in the egg yolks and blend well. Then the flavorings.

Whisk together  flour, baking soda and cream of tartar, then add to batter.

I chilled for a while, took some out and rolled it out onto a floured board. Using a heart-shaped cookie cutter, I cut out the cookies and carefully laid them on a parchment lined cookie sheet.

Here’s the kicker. After carefully cutting out the hearts, I baked them, at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes. They ballooned out of shape! No more hearts, so sad. Just big blobs. So, while they were still warm, I re-cut them. They came out perfect!  I just cut them and lefty them to cool. When they cooled off, I broke off the extra cookie bits and got to eat them and pass them around.

While the hearts cooled, I made some icing. This was just about a half brick of cream cheese (4 oz), about 1 Tbsp. corn syrup, 2 Tbsp. milk (you could use cream, if you have it) and powdered sugar, enough to make a thickish icing. If you want, add vanilla or flavoring of choice as well.  don’t make it too thick or it’s frosting. Not too thin, or it runs off. You need to please Goldilocks (“this icing is too thin, this icing is too thick, this icing is juuuuust right.”)

Then using a knife, you frost the cookie and sprinkle if you want. Or why not add food coloring to the icing? Or skip all that and just eat them now!

I'd like to hear from you!

