ta-da! ta-da! ta-da! 1st gluten free loaf of bread a sucess ta-da!

Ah-ha, I have conquered my fear! I have scaled the highest peak, braved the monsters under the bed, sneered in the face of failure. Even missing the 1/2 cup brown rice flour I was supposed to put in there, my first loaf of gluten free bread came out a success!

Gf loaf #1

(Have you even gone to use an ingredient, or maybe to put it away, noticed it was not open yet and have that “oh-oh” moment? Like when the brown rice bag wasn’t even open and the bead recipe called had for it.)

#2 is about to come out of the oven. I will include that picture when it is done, cooled and I have tasted it. Not that I am a GF bread connoisseur. The only reason I am making it is I have had several people ask me about it due to their special dietary needs. I put this off for a looooong time! Bread without wheat flour, bahh! Thats like wine without grapes, bubble without gum…But I yield to the needs of my friends.

You may remember my brief interlude with gluten free eating. I didn’t even give it a chance. But I have faced my fears and finally made bread with rice and sorghum flours among other things. As you can tell, I am very excited. Now I better get back to the oven and take out loaf #2.

gluten free loaf #2

 

Gosh, this looks a lot like loaf #1 doesn’t it? Hmm. Very strange. Well, there you go. I have one other recipe I am going to try on sat. and that one includes sunflower seeds for crunch and flavor.

Wish me luck!

Oh yeah, we got “Hugo” in the mail today. Can’t wait to watch it tonight. Will make special popcorn and everything. If you haven’t seen it, you should.

I'd like to hear from you!

