Eggs in an Onion Mold

Hey there breakfast eaters!

Our friend Cassie sent me a link to a food blog called “Apron Strings” (don’t ya’ just love that name, wish I had thought of it).

On it was a picture, much better than mine, of 2 beautiful eggs cooked in a sliced ring of onion. I had to have it. (gimme-gimme).

I think I need a different lens. Here is my picture.

There is a slice of homemade sourdough toast.

Here is a close up, blurry but close.

It’s a snap to make.

Cut a slice out of the middle of an onion, about 1/2 inch thick. Use the outside larger ring.

In a hot and oiled skillet, (I used my little cast iron) brown the ring on one side. Flip it over and crack the egg into it.

Add a couple of Tbsp. of water to the pan and pop a lid on it quick. One thing the ladies at “Apron Strings” says is if you want to see the yolk better, to blot it carefully with a paper towel. Cook until its done the way you like it, add s & p and viola!

It’s the cutest egg ever and tastes wonderful! Enjoy

I'd like to hear from you!

