French Dip/Philly Cheese Steak

First I make a disclaimer. I am not from Philadelphia. I do not make any claims that this is true Philly cheese steak material. Quite frankly I am not big on authenticity here. I know some people are and get quite excited about the idea. I guess that’s the risk you take when you name food after a city, country or province. For example, why hasn’t Belgium declared war on us over those sadly inferior frozen waffles things we call “Belgium” waffles? Not that I have been there, but I have heard from those that have been how fabulous their waffles really are over there. A waffle stand on every corner, wonderful scents filling the air.

Oops, I better get back on track.

Here is a dilly of a recipe I found on “Just a Pinch” recipe club. I had to adapt it a bit, but it was wonderful and I want to share it with you too. It won a blue ribbon and was submitted by “Cookingdad” Gordon Savell.

But my computer will not copy and paste this for me today. So here goes

Ingredients:

Some“: Garlic Powder

Seasoning Salt

Pepper

Emerils essentials (?)

1 pkg. Lipton Onion Soup Mix

2 boxes Beef Broth

1 Roast, 3 lbs. Good cut like shoulder

16 oz beer

Good french bread, Hoagie rolls, etc.

Grilled onions, peppers

Swiss Cheese

Directions:

Put the roast in the crock pot, adding plenty of seasoning. Put in the beer, the soup mix, the broth. Cook in the crock pot on low/med (?) and it should be done in 4-6 hours. I guess you know your crock pot best to judge the timing.

When the meat is tender, take it out and shred it, adding juice. Toast a roll or bread, fill with meat and veggies then some shredded cheese and serve some ‘juice” on the side. Wonderful stuff!

Now I tend to buy my meat at Costco. I buy roasts, keep some whole for pot roast and cut some up for beef stew. I had taken out meat for stew a couple of days ago, then didn’t feel like making it.  And since I’m the kitchen boss…

That same day I got an email from the “Just a Pinch” recipe club I belong to and there was a french dip recipe. Eureka! Just what I needed. I adapted it just a little.

I browned the meat in a big enameled pot, then added the seasoning, a pack of onion soup mix, half a bottle of beer and 1 box of beef broth.

After it simmered for 3 hours, the meat was tender and the juice was wonderful. I do not often cook with beer. This most definitely worked. It gave it just the right flavor. In the past I have added sherry to make Au jus. That was good too.

Did I mention the bread? I made some home-made hoagie rolls. First time too. They came out pretty ugly (wait, isn’t that an oxy-moron?) but just the right texture and chew.  Not so soft it turned to mush, not so hard that it would seem too bready. I will post that recipe separate.

Grilled some onions, green peppers, mushrooms and threw on a slice of Havarti cheese. (it’s the only white cheese I had. Cheddar just wouldn’t do. It might not be “Philly” enough, whatever that is.)

I'd like to hear from you!

