DIY Ranch Dressing, with a secret ingredient

Spring has sprung at this household. I have enough lettuce and spinach to be making salads every day. In fact I just made one and have some spinach leftover to put in dh’s omelet. The pea plants have peas, the tomato plants have blooms. There is a lot going on out there in my little 15′ X 18″ plot. So, about the salad…

      

If you look in my cupboards or fridge at any given time I usually have a plethora or Italian dressings and balsamic dressings. I like blue cheese and ranch, but I don’t like the bottled taste usually associated with it. Bobs Big Boy has a delicious blue, wouldn’t you say? And I have posted a spectacular blue cheese dressing recipe on this site too. In fact, it has the same secret ingredient you are about to use in this recipe!

I wanted something ranchy (no, not raunchy, ranchy)

The first place I looked was my Pioneer Woman cookbook. Dear Ree. She hasn’t failed me yet. Between her and the Tasty Kitchen I am pretty well covered. Oh, and with a trip through the “Just a Pinch” recipe club I belong to.

Where was I?

Oh, ranch dressing. I modified it to what I had on hand. Here is how I made it.

The list of ingredients:

1 clove garlic, pressed

1 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup sour cream or plain yogurt (I happen to have the yogurt handy, not the sour cream)

1/4-1/2 cup milk or buttermilk. (buttermilk if you have it!!)

1/4 cup chopped parsley (easy to grow in the garden, then its always handy. Mine is going on 2 years old!)

1 or 2 diced green onions

2 Tbsp fresh dill (I don’t have) or 2 Tsp. dried dill.

1/2 tsp. white or apple vinegar

1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

(I left out a pinch of cayenne pepper, but you might want it)

1/4 tsp paprika

couple grinds of pepper

Optional dash of hot sauce.

Now, the secret ingredient (Don’t tell anyone! I am trusting you now)..Smokehouse Almonds!

Yes, I know, the same secret ingredient as in the blue cheese dressing. What can I say? It makes all these creamy dressings taste better and gives them a little crunch. I put some in a little grinder, the same one that is supposed to grind coffee beans, but usually only gets nuts and oats. Grind as coarse as you like it. I use a small handful.

Mix everything together and chill. Then enjoy. Enjoy very much. Try not to eat it with a spoon out of the jar.

Chopped up, minutes from the garden
Mix it with the other ingredients

Herb Garden
3 thoughts on “DIY Ranch Dressing, with a secret ingredient

  1. Leave it to a Lego mom to notice..they pop up everywhere. I still find them out in the grass or in the dryer, even when we have no one playing with them anymore.

I'd like to hear from you!

