Warrior Womans Meatloaf

Did any of you watch Pioneer Woman on the Food Network a couple of weeks ago when she made meatloaf? I did. In fact it’s the only one I have watched on time and not taped that I can remember. Usually I go to my moms house to watch  it during the week.

I think there must be some subliminal messaging going on. Or blatant obvious messaging even. “Eat this! Make meatloaf now and your life will be complete!” ‘Cause I sure couldn’t rest until I made some for our family. Suddenly making meatloaf consumed me. And we are not even big meatloaf fans. Didn’t matter a bit though. We had to have it and you know what? We all loved it.

I found the recipe was in the Pioneer Woman’s Cookbook (otherwise known around my mom’s house as “Warrior Woman”. Why? It just is). I had all the ingredients too. Whoo-hoo!

So meat and potatoes, green salad. Real he-man food with a side of girly.

Here are some of the ingredients, except for the parmesan, which I had and forgot to use (weep...)

Meatloaf (oven 350)

1 cup milk

6 slices bread

2 pounds ground beef

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese (sniff-I forgot this. I am sure it would have made a big difference, even though it turned out great. It would have been greater!)

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp seasoned salt and some pepper

about 1/2 cup minced parsley (it says flat leafed-but I am growing regular and I really can’t tell the diff once it’s in the food.)

4 eggs, beaten (yes, this makes a pretty big batch. I think I made half a batch).

8-12 thin bacon slices

Topping: (Don’t forget-Oven 350)

1 1/2 cups ketchup (I used half spicy ketchup, just because we had it in the fridge.)

6 Tbsp. brown sugar

1 tsp. dry mustard

dash or two of hot sauce-more if you like heat

Pour the  milk over the bread in a bowl and let it soak in.

Put everything else in the bowl and squish with clean hands. (they won’t be clean for long, unless you wear gloves).

I use a meatloaf pan, but you can put for the loaf shape on a broiler pan, the bottom of which she lines with aluminum foil and it  will allow the fat from the meat to drain.

Lay the slices of bacon over the top, tucking their little ends in underneath the meatloaf.

All stripy pink and cute. Just needs little eyes and a pig nose. (Oven 350)

Mix together the topping sauce ingredients. Put about 1/3 of it over the top of the meatloaf and pop into the oven (how high?) for 45 minutes.

Then put another third of the sauce over it. Bake another 15 minutes.

The rest of the sauce will be served on the side.

yes, it shrinks. Half a recipe is just right for the 3 of us, with a few leftovers for sandwiches. Jut right for 4 people.

I can just about smell it…Don’t let anyone pick off the saucy-bacony topping. That knife was there as a warning to presumptuous bacon thieves. (not really).

Make mashed potatoes and have a crisp salad with homemade ranch dressing!

4 thoughts on “Warrior Womans Meatloaf

  1. We had this tonight for dinner…with mashed potatoes and a green salad. = ) I think it went over pretty well with the family, but I would have liked it better if the bacon had ‘crisped up’ a bit. Any chance it would do that? I thought about leaving off the glorified ketchup next time. I don’t usually put ketchup on my meatloaf while it’s baking anyway.

    Thanks for the new recipe!

  2. that is a possibility. If the juice from the meatloaf itself does not inhibit crisping. If I was the Test Kitchen, I would try it for you. The topping could always be put on after it crisps, say during the last 15 minutes..You could change it to a barbeque sauce too if your fam isn’t fond of the topping. Or just have some set aside for dipping.

I'd like to hear from you!

