Maple Twists

Maple twists of heavenly delight!

First off, it is not really supposed to look this orangy-yellow. It’s just my lighting. Or my camera settings. I am no threat to photographers.

It is actually a golden brown and soft and warm and maple-ish and …excuse me while I go grab another, just to remind myself.

here is a better shot

I found this on Pinterest courtesy of “breakfasts and Breads” who got it from “Fake Ginger” who got it from…who knows. But I am sure glad it is here now to share with you. You and yours will love it for sure. I have, of course, made some adaptations to what I happen to have in my pantry.

Basically it is a sweet dough rolled out into a circle and topped with cinnamon sugar and nuts, cut into petals and twisted, then raise and bake. Here are the details.

Sweet dough: See this post for details. Here are the ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 pkg or 2 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 1 egg
  • 3 1/2 cup good flour more or less

Streusel Center:

  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar ( I used Trader Joes Maple sugar instead, then used white sugar to sprinkle over the top just before baking.)
  • 1/3 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts, but pecans would be even better, if you’ve got them)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon maple extract (since I used maple sugar, and only had about 3 drops of maple extract left that I wanted to save for the icing, I didn’t use this in the streusel. But that is your call).

Icing:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon maple extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

note: I used the sugar, melted butter and milk, but also used real grade b maple syrup in the icing as well as my last few drops of extract. I did not use the vanilla since I did not want to overpower the maple flavor. I may have used a little less milk, but did not measure. Just mixed and added until it was thin enough to easily brush on with a nylon brush.

See the link for making sweet dough. It explains it all there. If you are familiar with doughs, just plunge right in.

For the Streusel, I melt the butter in a saucepan, add the sugars, cinnamon and nuts and mix with a fork. If it looks too wet, add a little  more sugar, white sugar will do.  Let it cool.

Cut the dough in half. Roll each half into a circle, about 12″.

Cover each with the streusel filling. Press into the dough.

Find something (small cup) that is 2 inch across and center it on the circles (press down a little to make a mark). Using scissors or a very sharp knife, cut from the outer edge into the cup mark, making 16 wedges.

Gently life and twist each section 5 times. Tuck the end in just a little so that it stays twisted.

Lightly cover this with plastic wrap and let it rise for about 45 minutes. Sprinkle with a dusting of white sugar.  Bake in a 375 oven for 18-22 minutes. Remove from oven and let rest for 5 minutes. Whisk all glaze ingredients together. Drizzle glaze over warm twists.

Be prepared for the stampede when your family discovers they are ready. They are irresistible when warm. Here is a picture of a leftover crumb  after it has cooled off. It is still great, but warmed up a bit in a toaster oven and it is better than a maple bar donut.

First yellow, now blue, Good grief. Where is my snap-n-shoot?
New batch-new camera setting

Other than being a little blurry, I think I found my problem. Shooting a close up picture with a landscape setting. Duh. This batch I made oblong, and it looks more like an octopus. Or as someone here called it, a giant bear claw. It just needed better lighting. I think I need a class.

I'd like to hear from you!

