Crananasauce Gluten Free Muffins

I was just looking for something new in the gluten-free department. I have conquered the lemon blueberry coffeecake. I got the cookies. Gave up on the bread for now. What to do, what to do? Ah-ha! Found this muffin recipe and adapted it. The little things turned out wonderful! They came out moist, lightly sweet and  stayed together.

They are actually banana applesauce cranberry gluten-free muffins. But who wants to say all that! So I shortened it just a bit. I already posted it on pinterest. But here is the recipe with pictures of the ones I made.

Credit goes to  Gluten-Free Culinarian for the recipe I started with.

It is really very simple, if you have gluten-free baking mix. I make my own and have a big jar of it on hand for quick and easy baking.

Preheat the oven to 375.

  • You will need:
  • 4 Tbsp. (half a cube) of melted butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 large overripe banana, lightly mashed up
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup gluten-free baking mix
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice (which I love to use all year, if I can get it.)
  • 1/8 tsp. xanthum gum
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup Craisins
  • cinnamon sugar for topping

In one mixing bowl, whisk together the melted butter, sugar, banana, vanilla, applesauce and egg.

In another bowl, whisk together the gluten-free baking mix, xanthum gum, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

Put these two together, gently mixing them. It should be wet, but not runny. Now I add a handful of Craisins.

Spoon into prepared muffin pan. Top with a generous sprinkling of cinnamon sugar.

Bake in a 375 oven for about 12 minutes of until a straw or toothpick comes out with crumbs but no wet batter.

 

I'd like to hear from you!

