Moms doughnuts

Someday in the future when all my children are adults, I imagine one of them will ask “remember moms donuts? I loved her homemade donuts.”

There were 3 on there. Sorry, I got hungry.

Another will look at them and say “What donuts? She never made donuts!”

“I don’t remember any donuts. Did she make donuts? Why didn’t she make them for me?”

“Because she loved me best of course.”

“She never made donuts when I was around”

“Well your memory sucks anyway.”

I remember them and I loved them!”

“I liked her scones better.”

“Remember the sticky buns every Christmas?”

What sticky buns!?

So for whichever of my children would like to have moms doughnut recipe, here it is. I had to kiss a lot of frogs before I got this prince of a recipe. Every year I would try at least once to make some really good donuts. I remember having platters full of bready chewy doughnut that only made the neighbor kids happy. It was a shoulder-shrugging recipe. No biggy. For all the oil I was using and the ingredients, I wanted something more memorable. Remember, this was the days before digital cameras, which means it was the days before food blogging, when I could go online and find any recipe I needed from all over the world. This was back in the “get out the cookbook or call grandma” days. Sometimes I go to the library, check out promising cookbooks and if they pull through for me, I go out and buy a new copy (Okay, I admit, or a used copy from Amazon) of my own.

This book was one of those. I loved it! Right from the get-go, I used several recipes and they all turned out great. This book was one of my first posts in fact. It’s The Wooden Spoon” by Marilyn Moore, first edition. The doughnut page is wrinkled and floury. But here I finally found my doughnut dream come true.

Here is the recipe:

Sour Cream Doughnuts

whisk together:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • (I added a few sprinkles of nutmeg too just for fun)

In a bowl beat:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup sour cream (for today batch I was a little short so I supplemented with plain yogurt.)

Gradually mix the dry with the wet ingredients. It says you may not need it all. I did and needed more flour.

Toss on a floured surface until no longer sticky. Roll to 3/8″ thickness. (really? someone measures 3/8″? Ha!)

Cut with a smallish biscuit cutter (1 1/2″) I tried using bigger ones, but they would burn on the outside and be doughy on the inside.

With a chopstick, poke a hole in the center and gently pull the hole open to make a little mini doughnut. Fry in a pan of oil heated to 375 and fry until well-browned, turning once. Again, if the doughnuts are too big or the oil too hot, they will burn on the outside and be doughy in the inside. Not good!

Drain on paper towels. Roll in a pasta bowl filled with cinnamon sugar (at least that’s the bowl I use).

serve warm or cold (or warm and with a glass of milk please!)

 

 

 

 

 

I got to thinking about doughnuts and remembered in “Farmer Boy” of the Little House series, Alonzo’s mother made doughnuts. I looked it up in the “Little House Cookbook” hubby got for me over 30 years ago and it is virtually the same recipe! If only I had paid better attention.

One thought on “Moms doughnuts

I'd like to hear from you!

