New Creamy Pesto Pasta

Hubby was sitting on his recliner and I mentioned that I had no plans for dinner. So he says “How about some of that pesto pasta sauce.”

Now  to me, saying “some of that”  implies that I have made it before. I have never ever made pesto sauce before.

Never.

I have not even had it at a restaurant. So I am not sure what he was exactly thinking of. If he had said, “some of that garlic butter pasta” then I would have had a clue what he meant.

But it got me to thinking. I did have a jar of Trader Giottos Pesto alla Genovese sauce sitting in my pantry. It had a thick layer of dust on it. I must have seen a recipe at some time that used a pesto sauce and thought I might utilize it. But then I never did. (Now don’t tell me you never did that. Haven’t you had something in your pantry that you bought for a recipe and then later wondered what the heck that was for?)

So I got on the internet, looked again in my pantry and refrigerator and this is what I came up with. Easy-peasy!

Well, I cooked the Trader Joes pasta, raviolis & tortellinis  that I happen to have on hand. (I had to make some plain spaghetti pasta for Mr. picky pants). I also  had some TJ’s cream. (Guess where I like to shop?)

Round up the usual suspects

When the pasta was cooked, I drained it and put the empty pan back on the stove. I added some cream and a dollop of butter. To that I added 2 heaping Tbsp. of the Pesto sauce, some diced garden tomatoes and some grated parmesan. This took about 3 minutes.

Or less!

I put the pasta back in and tossed gently. (Why gently? Because I don’t want the raviolis and tortellinis getting busted open. Messy and wasteful.)

It came out creamy, with green specks and bits of pine nuts, little red balls of tiny tomatoes and shreds of cheese on top. I have to describe it to you because we were so busy eating it (and I was so busy dishing it out) that I forgot to take a picture until it was just a few cold tortellinis in the bottom of the pan. Who needs to see that?

So just use your imagination. It was warm, simple, stove-top and quick. All that we love in a summer time meal.

2 thoughts on “New Creamy Pesto Pasta

I'd like to hear from you!

