Glorious Glazed Carrots

couldn’t even get my camera fast enough. (could be cause we didn’t eat till 7)

(reprinted from an earlier post cause its worth it)

I clipped this out of the Orange  County Register, mostly for the fish taco recipe. I saw this recipe and thought, “oh, why not”. It is  now my favorite and only recipe I use for cooked carrots.

  • 2 lbs peeled and sliced carrots (I usually cut this recipe at least in half)
  • 14-oz can of low sodium chicken broth (Trader Joes of course)
  • 2 Tblsp butter
  • 3 Tblsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt.
  • garnish: 2 Tblsp chopped Italian parsley

Cut the carrots into uniform (more or less) slivers and put them in a pan or skillet with all the other ing. except garnish. Spread the carrots out in the pan, turn the heat on high and bring to a simmer. (about 5 minutes). Give everything a stir, put a lid on it, turn the heat to low and simmer about 5 minutes more. Now remove the lid carefully (point lid away from you, you don’t need that kind of facial, trust me). turn heat up and cook until you have a sweet syrup reduction that glazes your carrots nicely. Serve right out of the pan if you want or spoon into a pretty serving dish and sprinkle with parsley.

(even though I grow parsley in the garden, I am usually too lazy busy to run out there just to garnish carrots. I’d have to remind the boys what the parsley looks like before I’d send them to do it.)

Try these and tell me what you think!

Oops, there goes the last of ’em. No left overs. And cooked carrots?

thank you Matt Degen of iwanttocook.com for this idea!

I'd like to hear from you!

