Red Stewed Chicken

Well, we made another trip to LAX today. Said good-by again to our older son as he heads off to Peru for a month. Both my older children have wondering feet. It should be terribly interesting. It’s winter there you know. But Cuzco doesn’t get very cold, supposedly. Guess he’ll find out. Wish I could go. But only if I can go in style, with massages, mojitos, and mud masks. Like thats going to happen. I could get that here and don’t. I certainly don’t need to go all the way to Peru for that. But maybe he will bring home one of their interesting hats. Wonder if their heads are shaped that way. Ever seen their hats? Like a tall bowler… kind of.

woman in Open Market in Pisac, Valley of the Inca

Well, let’s get to it.

This here recipe is an oldie but a goodie. I haven’t used it in a while. Maybe because it uses so much soy sauce. But I want it to be included in our families arsenal of dinner options.

My mom gave this one to me. She might have gotten it out of a paper. Who knows. It’s wonderful.I have modified it just a little though. Sorry mom.

oh, yum. And look! sautéed spinach. I happen to have spinach in my fridge right now. Guess I’ll have that for dinner tonight.

Now it seems to me that it used a whole chicken, but I really don’t see how useful that would be. You need chicken pieces really. Here are the ingredients

1-3 lb. chicken cut into pieces

3 cups chicken broth

1 1/2 cups soy sauce

2 scallions cut into 2″ pieces

2 thin slices of peeled fresh ginger root

1 crushed clove of garlic (1, really? How can I use only 1?)

2 T. sugar (or maybe a sugar option, like agave?)

In a deep pan, combine everything but the chicken and the sugar. Whisk it up.

Now, even though it doesn’t call for it, I like to brown my chicken pieces. I like the texture better. You don’t have to, but I do.

browning the chick pieces in some oil. Spatter-spatter!

Salt the chicken cavity (Okay, now I know it uses a whole chicken. But again, I think it works better if you use pieces, in which case you would skip this step.)

Bring the liquid to a boil and add the chicken. Return to a boil and cover, simmering for 15 minutes.

Now add the sugar and simmer, covered, until tender, about 40 minutes. If I were using a whole chicken, which I’m not, but if I were, I would want to turn the whole bird occasionally to make sure it cooked in the sauce and browned all over. But don’t over cook or it will dry out. In fact, you might take the white meat out early. Or put it in later, about 10 minutes later.

Serve with sauce spooned over the pieces.

Store leftover sauce in a covered container to use again for chicken or fish or ???

Don’t the ingredients make you think of teriyaki sauce? Except diluted with chicken broth.

2 thoughts on “Red Stewed Chicken

I'd like to hear from you!

