Herbed Baked Eggs

I got this one from Ina Garten’s “Barefoot in Paris”. I admit I have a weak spot for french recipes. Not the fancy ones, just the everyday sort that makes you feel special and french just eating it. Like the French Oatmeal recipe I have. The picture on this recipe is what grabbed me by the collar and got my attention. There were 2 thin slices of some kind of homemade toast all golden and buttery served with it. Oh, be still my heart!

So sorry, I have no picture of this to share with you. As soon as this heat lets up and I make some bread for us, I will make this and try to get your attention too. But for now, I just wanted to share this anyway.

This will be going in the broiler.

You need either 4 gratin dishes or shallow ramekins. Or cut the recipe to the amount of ramekins you have.

You will need some fresh minced garlic about 1/2 tsp. I use more, but suit yourself.

minced fresh herbs, thyme, rosemary, parsley. enough to give you a pinch in each serving. A little more of the parsley

2 Tbsp. freshly grated Parmesan cheese

12 extra large eggs (okay, I never use this many. I usually make for 1 or 2, using 2 eggs each. But here is the recipe for you to adapt.)

1/4 cup heavy cream

2 Tbsp. melted butter

salt and pepper

Toasted French bread or brioche for serving.

Turn on the broiler to get it ready. Have your rack about 6″ below the heat.

Put your dishes on a baking sheet. Into each dish place 1 Tbsp. of cream and 1/2 Tbsp of butter. Put these under the broiler for about 3 minutes or less until hot and bubbly.

Crack the eggs into a shallow bowl to then pour into the ramekins and put 2 or 3 eggs in each dish.

Mix the herbs together with the garlic and Parmesan cheese. Sprinkle some of the herb mixture evenly over the eggs and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Place under the broiler for 3-5 minutes or until the egg whites are mostly cooked. Rotate the pan if they are not cooking evenly. The eggs will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven and it is very easy to over cook these. How would I know this? Well…

Serve with the wonderful hot toast from  your own wonderful homemade bread.

One thought on “Herbed Baked Eggs

I'd like to hear from you!

