Dairy-Gluten free Chocolate Banana Bread

Okay, just so you know, those of you who really don’t care about gluten free stuff, after my husband and son looked at these loaves and drooled all over the counter, I promised them a gluten filled loaf of their own. So that recipe will be forthcoming soon. We are having a cooler spell and baking is tolerable at this time.

One with chips, the other chipless

This was actually a request from a friend along the lines of “Can you make a kind of gluten-free loaf? Chocolate? Oh and Dairy free?” Sure thing!

Now I had doubled the original recipe and made two 9×5 loaves. I will give you the recipe for 1 loaf.

Oh, you should also know this. One of the loaves had chocolate chips put in it, both half way through and on top of the dough. (Kind of like buttering popcorn at the movies.) The other loaf is just the coco banana loaf. You get to figure out which is which…

Here is the recipe I adapted from several other recipes:

Gluten-Dairy free Banana Chocolate Bread

2 eggs

1/4 cup non dairy milk (I was out and used water with an extra tsp. of non dairy spread melted in)

1/4 cup applesauce

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup melted non dairy spread (or coconut oil or oil)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 ripe mashed bananas

2 cups gluten-free mix (I use mine, but any will do)

1/3 cup baking cocoa

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. Xanthan gum

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

optional, dairy/gluten-free chocolate chips or regular chips

Preheat the oven to 350 and prepare a loaf pan, 9×5

In a mixing bowl, using a hand or standing mixer, mix the bananas, eggs, sugar, applesauce, non-milk, melted spread and vanilla.

In another bowl whisk together the dry ingredients.

Mix the wet and dry ingredients together and scoop into the loaf pan. Smooth over the top.

Now if you want to add chocolate chips, just put half the batter in the pan, sprinkle with chips, add the rest of the dough and top with more chips.

Bake until done. This is actually the hardest part.

Really.

When I bake with regular breads, I use an instant read thermometer so I know when its done. So far I have yet to see a recipe that says “bake GF loaf until it is ___ degrees”.

So I set the timer for about 45 minutes and check it. Does it still look wet? Put it in another 10 minutes. Check it with a straw or some such thing. Is it dry? It may still not be safe. Gluten free baked goods really need to be done!

Some suggest turning off the oven and keeping it in there for an extra 10 minutes when its done baking. But this is your call. All I know is that this time, they turned out looking perfect. Hopefully (I will have to ask) it tastes wonderful.

Okay, results are in. Bread came out too dry, lacking flavor. Hmmm. Bake less. Overbaking/underbaking. The bane of gluten free baking. We need some temperature control here. I will try again and take its temperature. The ingredients were right for flavor. I am pretty sure it is in the baking time table, although I will try to get some coconut milk for next time too. Good luck with yours.

Next stop, back in the kitchen to make it all again, but with flour, milk and maybe… butter! Keep the menfolk happy!

2 thoughts on “Dairy-Gluten free Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. That looks delicious! (actually they both do but seeing as there is only one thing different between them we can call them twins with similar genetic material… fraternal twins!). My sisters partner is celiac and would LOVE something like that so I am going to steal this recipe and send it to her. Sorry for the stealing bit, I am usually an honest and upright citizen BUT poor Jason deserves a bit of heaven on a choc chip stick and so I feel it my duty to replicate Robin Hood and steal from the (recipe) rich and give to the (taste sensatin) poor…off to Sherwood forest with me!

I'd like to hear from you!

