Homemade Applesauce

Who knew it could be so easy? Especially after seeing other recipes needing things like food mills. Do you have a food mill? Do you know, I used to have one, but (head bent in shame) I did not know what it was. Someone had left it behind somewhere and I ended up with it. It had a wooden handle and was a large coney thing. I had no idea and after a few years, got rid of it at a rummage sale for the school.

Anyway, I did not need it after all. You can use it, but you don’t need it!

But you do need apples. A variety works well. But I was only making the sauce because I was too lazy to go to the store to get applesauce. So I sure as heck wasn’t going to the store to get apples for the sauce. But I had a bag of some kind of apple called ‘Envy’. And they were envious. Very sweet. I peeled and cut them with my apple corer/slicer. Them I diced them further, added about a cup of water to 6 apples and let them simmer away.

Which they did, beautifully.

When they were tender, I added some cinnamon and put them in the blender, adding some apple juice if it seemed too thick.  It took 3 batches to blend and the third batch I just didn’t blend at all, but smashed with a potato masher, wanting to keep some texture other  than that of baby food to it.

It was delicious!

It only made one jar full. so I would need lots more apples if I wanted to can this. Kind of wish I had a tree about now. I would love to can applesauce.

Pretty simple. Take apples, peel, chop, cook, adding water as needed, until soft and mash!

Then eat. Warm, cold or in between.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Applesauce

  1. I have never really understood the American thing with applesauce…or sweet pumpkin dishes! To me its stewed apple (to go with custard) and pumpkin is savoury and served roasted with meat. Cheers for this recipe…I might even stick my Aussie foot into the American sea of applesauce and give it a go! I read somewhere that if you add applesauce to a cake you can drop the amount of fat needed? Not sure if that works but I might give it a burl 🙂

    1. Fran, I did actually make the sauce to go with pork. It works great together. The leftovers went into my banana nutella bread. And yes, I have heard of people replacing oil with applesauce in cakes and brownies. It worked for my bread. I dont measure as much as I used to and when I do impromptu things like throwing in some applesauce, I just adjust the flour to take up the slack, if there were any.

      1. I love your way of thinking and “bung it in” is my creed! I have never been a great sweet person including fruit. My mum made all sorts of fruity preserves and I guess I may have been overdosed on preserved fruit when I was a kid because I have a decided lean to the savoury side. I don’t like fruit with savoury dishes and the ubiquitous “Sweet and Sour Pork” that mum made when I was a kid was not something that I enjoyed. I am not fussy, but I do know what I like and my brain tells me that fruit doesn’t go with savoury things lol. Now CAKES… that is an entirely different thing! Mum made an amazing cake called a Hummingbird cake and another one called a Lumberjack cake that contained fruit to the back gills (along with nuts and other things) and they were amazing 🙂

  2. We used to make applesauce every year in October. We’d go to Oak Glen, buy a massive number of apples and make applesauce and apple pies. That was when the kids were small. I think your kids actually helped one year. Enjoy your new yummy treat.

I'd like to hear from you!

