Cheater Chicken n Dumplings

I can’t believe how long its been since I have posted! Hope you’ve missed me.

Over the cheeping of the baby chicks out the backdoor (I found baby dookies in the living room this morning!) I can also hear the distant roar of the freeway, which is less than a mile from here. It sounds a lot like the distant roar of the sea, if you squint your ears and use a little imagination. I used to live closer to the sea and could hear it out my window at night when I was a teenager. This sounds a very similar, only we should not be hearing it at all. When we hear that roar, it means the wind is coming from the east, an entirely wrong direction for our wind to be coming from. It means its coming from the desert.

The desert my friends!

So we can expect it to be hot, around high 90’s today.

(weep-weep)

Unlike Tasmania, our time has not changed yet. I got up and it was still dark out at 6:15. I could see ‘the morning star’ in the eastern horizon, big and bold.

And beautiful.

Makes it worth coming out to see it. After Nov. 4th and the time change, it will be light by then and I will only see it on Sunday mornings.

Ah, but where is the chicken and dumplings?

Be patient, I am getting there.

We had a “Welcome back and Congratulations” party for our older son. It was a southern themed potluck party with a slide show of his trips to New Zealand, Scotland, Peru and some close-ups of Banana slugs from UCSC. (Way too many of those for my taste). Southern because of his Civil War reenactment days.

My guy is the one on the right. This is from I think, 2010

It was a fun event.

I was pooped!

My favorite dish there was the fried chicken a true southern gentleman whipped up and brought. I am still waiting for that recipe! (hint-hint)

Another was my own chicken n dumplings I adapted from one of my Semi-Homemade cookbooks. There was so much food there, I did get to take some home for the next day. (Okay, so I held some back just in case. Call me a dumpling hoarder.)

Mind you there was plenty of other wonderful food, biscuits n gravy, turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, jambalaya and rice, deviled eggs, a couple different kinds of beans, corn bread and corn souffle, grape salad and I don’t know what all. And that’s not even starting on the 8 desserts!

I adapted the recipe to what I had on hand, which by the look of the picture, was carrots.

Here is the recipe from Sandra Lee Semi Homemade, with my adaptations:

chicken and dumplings  (Why cant I underline things in WordPress? Most irritating)

2 whole store bought roasted chickens, shredded (I used a little less than 2 whole)

2 Tbsp. vegy oil

chopped onions

chopped carrots

chopped celery (the recipe calls for “Ready Pac” frozen veggies)

2 boxes low sodium chicken broth

2 tsp. poultry seasoning

1/2 tsp. pepper

some all-purpose flour for dusting

1 container refrigerated buttermilk biscuit dough, like Pillsbury Grands

1 can condensed chicken gravy, Campbells (I didn’t have any and used Campbells cream of chicken soup instead this time. Used the gravy last time. Both worked great)

Set aside the shredded chicken, tossing skin and bones in trash

in a large heavy pot or Dutch oven, heat oil over medium heat. Add veggies and cook until soft, about 10 minutes.

Add broth, poultry seasoning, salt, pepper and chicken. bring to a boil and reduce heat. Simmer for 30 minutes.

While stew simmers, prepare dumplings. On a floured surface, roll each biscuit 1/4″ thick. With a pizza cutter, cut biscuits into 1″ wide strips. Set aside.

Skim off any scum that has risen to the surface of soup. Stir in chicken gravy. Stir in dumplings, a few at a time. Cover with a tight-fitting lid and simmer for 10 minutes.

Ladle into bowls and serve!

Or don’t tell anyone about it a slurp it up yourself. But the smell will draw them in.

One of the tables of people chowing down
Getting directions before battle. I don’t know, they look pretty hot and tired. Maybe this is after battle?
Well, look what showed up? Wouldn’t Phil be jealous.
One thought on “Cheater Chicken n Dumplings

  1. We HAVE missed you! Glad to see that you are still able to enjoy the early morning darkness…Tasmania is being inhospitable and the weather has just returned to winter so at least tomorrow will be dark for about 3 hours and I can pretend that I live in Alaska where it is just about to be dark for weeks on end ;). You have baby chooks too?! So do we! We have 17…and counting :(. I agree that the battle appears to be over in that shot…hot, bothered and “over it!” is what that photo should be entitled. We have a place called Evandale in Tasmania where they have an annual penny farthing race. People come from all over the world to take part. Perhaps even that gentleman in that last photo? They are a passionate (read crazy) lot those penny farthing riders…you would have to be just to have the patience to practice staying on when gravity is most determined to dump you off. I do all of my posts in a word document. I underline, I bold, I change fonts, I do amazing things (that WordPress usually has tantrums about but can’t stop) and I underline! After pasting into my new post I just add my photos and voila…posted! So glad to see you back 🙂 Our wind is blowing from Antarctica today…we must be on doppleganger meridians 😉

I'd like to hear from you!

