Peachy-cue sauce

If you happen to have stashed some peaches in your freezer from the summer harvest, I have just the recipe for you. If you didn’t and are peachless, I have just the recipe for you for next year.

This makes a tangy wonderful barbecue sauce good for any meats, especially pork.

It is an adaptation from the Ball recipe.

Peachy-cue sauce

6 cups finely chopped pitted peeled peaches (about 3 lb or 9 medium)
1 cup finely chopped seeded red or green bell pepper (about 1 large)
1 cup finely chopped onion (about 1 large)
3 Tbsp finely chopped garlic (about 6 cloves)
1/2 cups honey                                                                                                                                                                  1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup cider vinegar                                                                                                                                                       1/2 cup catsup
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp hot pepper flakes
2 tsp dry mustard
2 tsp salt
8 (8 oz) half pint glass preserving jars with lids and bands

Directions:

1.) PREPARE boiling water canner. Heat jars and lids in simmering water until ready for use. Do not boil. Set bands aside.
2.) COMBINE all ingredients in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently, until mixture thickens to the consistency of a thin commercial barbecue sauce, about 25 minutes. (I use immersion blender to break up the big chunks.) I taste it at this point and add a bit of this or that as needed. I don’t really like that much vinegar, but when canning, you need to achieve a certain PH level that I was afraid to mess with too much, so I left it, or reduced it just a tad. (I don’t really remember).
3.) LADLE hot sauce into hot jars leaving 1/2 inch headspace. Remove air bubbles. Wipe rim. Center hot lid on jar. Apply band and adjust until fit is fingertip tight.
4.) PROCESS in a boiling water canner for 15 minutes, adjusting for altitude. Remove jars and cool. Check lids for seal after 24 hours. Lid should not flex up and down when center is pressed.

I could eat this stuff with a spoon right out of the jar it was that good.

One of these days I will get my other web site going and it will have more articles on canning among other things, but I just can’t seem to get it right.