Still here in Alabama, Chicken Parmesan and some amazing homemade pound cake

I’ve got my spies. Minions who tell me what is going on.

And mama ain’t happy with some of the news about a dirty house, about letting the dog in, about chips and stains on the floor while she is Alabama!

Mama is very happy to see some pictures of the new kitchen, almost done. But I am not heading home until the dishwasher is installed, just so you know.

Day, what is it now? I lose track. Day 5.

We are preparing for dinner guests. I get to play in this nice big kitchen today, making dinner for 8 of us. Easy-peasy. I hope.

First, here are some photos I took around the inn this morning while I walked around looking for pecans to pick up. I plan to raid Aunties freezer of pecans, which cost more than gold back home, so I want to help contribute by harvesting them. Good thing I don’t make a living at it. I hardly had a pocket full.

Here is my helper. His name might be Pudgy, but I’m not sure. As you can see, he/she is very timid.
Here is his brother, socks, on guard duty, watching for squirrels that might steal our pecans. “Just make my day.”
Here is part of the wrap around porch.

Originally built by a Jewish Banker, this door piece is one of the few remaining relics of its time.
There is going to be a wedding out here this weekend. It will be my first time being here for a wedding.

Okay, now back to dinner. I will give you the recipe here for my chicken parmesan. Then the homemade pound cake recipe will have a link to where you can find it on my new site, “chicken wings n apron string”. More on that in a moment.

Chicken Parmesan: for 4

2 chicken breasts, slice in half such that you have two thin pieces.

some parmesan, grated, about 3/4 cup

2 eggs

flour, some for dredging

salt and pepper

favorite spaghetti sauce, your choice

mozzarella cheese, grated, about 1/2 cup

1 lb. pasta of your choice

It is easier to slice the chicken if it is partially frozen. Slice carefully and watch the fingers. Slice it through the skinny way.

Put the flour in a plate.

Put the eggs, mixed up in a bowl.

Put the parmesan in another plate.

Get a skillet hot and put some oil in it.

Dip both sides of the chicken in flour, then dip in the egg, then the parmesan. Set aside on a plate. When the skillet is hot, lay the chicken in it, not overlapping. I cooked 2 at a time, so they wouldn’t crowd. You only need to fry them about 2-3 minutes, then turn them over and fry another 2 minutes.

In the meantime, while they are frying, get out a baking pan. Put some spaghetti sauce, either homemade or jarred, into the bottom of the pan. Just  few spoonsful, not much, but enough so that the chicken is laying on some sauce. As the chicken is fried, lay it in the pan, spooning some sauce around the sides. I do not cover with sauce.

Put the pan  into a 350 degree oven and allow to bake 20 minutes. Too long and it will dry out. Too little and they may not finish cooking. Just as it comes out of the oven, I sprinkle on some mozzarella and pop it back in oven for another 5-10 minutes.

While this the chicken is baking, boil some water for pasta. When boiling, cook your pasta of choice. I made mostaccioli pasta which are like penne. When they get done, I drain them and rinse them a little to keep them from sticking. You can also spoon some sauce in with the pasta and it will keep it from sticking. Then hold it until everything is ready. If need be, heat back up my mixing in with the bubbling sauce.

Then I spooned some al dente pasta in a pasta bowl, then some sauce, topped with a piece of chicken.

On the side we had a salad and a slice of Italian Cheese bread. I will have to see if that recipe is posted yet.

This is the first time I made this using regular Gold Medal unbleached flour and not my usual high protein flour and it made quite a difference. Usually the recipe fills the springform pan and puffs up to double the pans height. At least double. But here it is, same recipe (imprinted in my mind) and it barely reached the top of the pan. But you know, it came out alright anyway. A little softer. I liked it this way. It did not have the big hollow swirl inside it usually has.

For the sauce, I just took a bottle of Ragu, with veggies. But first I browned some diced onions in olive oil. Then added a big heap of garlic. Sizzle, sizzle. Sprinkled in some Italian seasoning, then poured in some wine. I wish I could say it was red. It should have been. But you know, white works just as well. And we had a bottle handy. So I glugged in about..mm…1/3 cup of wine and let it reduce down as it simmered. Then I added a large can of crushed tomatoes and then the Ragu. Some salt, some pepper. Voila! Red sauce madness. Or is it Mad Men Red Sauce? Or Men Mad for Red Sauce?

Earlier in the day, Aunty did what she does best, gets the table setting ready. She has an eye for a lovely table.

With that glow about her I would say she had some holy divine inspiration.

Of course it wasn’t the food or the setting that really made the dinner, but the people sitting around the table.

I will share a picture of the dessert, but you will have to go follow the link to find the recipe. It is an old tried and true recipe, just the kind I like to use. And take my word for it, it was even better the next day. Moist, soft, sigh…

So my new friend, Mrs. Linda Blair made this Baptist Pound cake to share with dinner. Seems she has been making this recipe for her family forever. It comes from an old church cookbook. I have made it several times now and it has come out perfect-EVERY TIME! Great to have with strawberries and whipped cream. Thank you Linda dear!

2 thoughts on “Still here in Alabama, Chicken Parmesan and some amazing homemade pound cake

  1. WOOT! A new blog to follow 🙂 I can’t wait to make that gorgeous pound cake. Cheers for another wonderful post. You should become a caterer, your food looks so delicious 🙂

I'd like to hear from you!

