Wrapping up Alabama with a bow and how to make quiche.

’cause real men eat Quiche.

So my sheriff uncle says he must not be a real man. Hard to believe when he is geared up in the vest and guns and cuffs and stuff. But he doesn’t like Quiche., so I don’t know.

I don’t think there is a point there.

I am going to sum up the last few days of my visit in beautiful Alexander City, Alabama.

I have met the most interesting people. For instance, just this morning I met the overnight guests that were here last night. They are from China, working for IBM. He is Australian. She is American but spent many years in London. They recently had a trip to Mt. Everest. Before that a while back it was the Himalayas. How they ended up in Alabama I am not sure. They were on their way to Florida. She did mention that the small town feel, the good mannered politeness and the slower pace reminded her husband more of Australia than, say, the east coast. But they were interesting to talk to, or listen to. Thats the way its been my whole visit. Interesting people with interesting stories. I love it.

I leave tomorrow and while I will miss the small town feel, the good mannered politeness and the slower pace, as well as my family here, I can’t wait to get back to my family back home too. I miss ’em, bless their little hearts.

Thats what you say here in the south a lot. And it has a variety of meanings. “Bless your little heart”. It can mean, “what a cute thing to do” or “you horrid creature, go find your mother and make sure she beats you with a stick”.  I saw a tee-shirt that said “You’re not from the south? Well, bless your little heart”. I think it’s what southerners say when they don’t want to say something rude. (And rude does not fly here in the south!)So had you better watch their eyes when they say it. Watch for that glint of steel.

Tonight was a miracle. There was a wedding here in the side yard. An older couple getting remarried. Then they came in for dinner. All 57 of them. Imaging how much fun we had preparing and cooking all that food. I picked up some good tips. But what amazed me was the fact that they all came in to eat at 5:00 and by 6;10, the food was gone, the dishes were cleared, the chairs were put back and the house was back in order! Thats one hour! I can’t fathom it. They were still here opening gifts and throwing bouquets. But to eat and clean up, it was like the road runner and Speedy Gonzales were in charge or something. Is it that these southerners just take their eating so serious? They get right down to it, move on to the cake and out the door. My mind was spinning.

I got to visit the Cracker Barrel the other day. I did not realize it was an event. It thought it was just lunch! But the store in front of it was a blast to the past! I wanted everything, but had luggage size issues to keep in mind. So I just bought a bunch of old-time candy for the stockings. The food was just what I had been looking for, good southern fare, inexpensive and unpretentious.

Aunties chicken n dumplings. Oh be still my heart!

Barbecued shredded pork sandwich, my favorite.

Then we hit the flea market. I am not sure I can describe this place. It’s as big as a large grocery store inside. It’s like a huge yard sale. You go in needing nothing in particular and come out with a cartload of stuff you wonder how you could live without! I took some pictures to send to my family and I might as well share them with my blog friends too. I don’t though have a picture of the stuff I bought. A french tablecloth and a vintage tablecloth. And some vintage cookie cutter, like the kind I got rid of or lost ages ago when they got replaced by newfangled ones.

sharp objects anyone?

Now that should fit in my luggage.
They got one. of these out here too?? I’ve seen one in LA

Well, thats the gist of it. I think Auntie is part energizer bunny because about half way through I started in to whining and was trying out all the soft chairs up and down the aisles. (Me feet! Me legs!)

I have already been listening to Christmas music for the last week ya’ know and just found out that the Mistletoe Bough has a chestnut tree! So they really could roast them on an open fire, like the song says!

Well, the squirrels already got to the nuts, but here is the hedgehog outer shell of the things. Auntie says she really doesn’t like them much anyway. So could the squirrels please eat these and leave the pecans for us poor humans who can’t quite scamper up the trees like ya’ll?

Now I am going to share a Mistletoe Bough secret with you. Some people have raved about the coffee. I will share the secret ingredient, but  you must keep this to  yourselves now.(shh).

It is cinnamon in the ground coffee! Who’da thunk it?

I really have to go get ready to ship myself home. I could go on forever with all the interesting and fun times I have had here. But I promised you a Quiche recipe, didn’t I?

Auntie is all about streamlining and making it easy. So we are going to start with a premade pie crust. But its the pan that fascinated me. I hadn’t seen one quite like it before. I wonder if they still make them? Look here:

the screen helps keep the pie crust from getting soggy. Isn’t that just the bees knees? I want, I want!

Chop up some meat of your choice and some scallions.Put in the bottom of the quiche crust.

Now mix together 3 eggs, a can of evaporated milk, italian seasoning, salt, pepper and 1/4 cup of flour.

She says this is the only way to get the flour to mix in.

Pour the mixture into the pie crust and if you want, use a fork to crimp around the edges to make it ‘purdy’.

Now top with some shredded cheese…

And now pop the beauty into a 350 degree oven for about an hour. Slice and serve while warm.

To be served with a fruit cup, cheese muffins, toasted apple walnut bread and juice.

I think I am about to go downstairs and sneak some leftovers.

I must go and I will miss each and every one of you that I have had the privilege of meeting here. (sniff, I said I wouldn’t cry).

Take care of yourselves till the next time and swing my by place next time you are anywhere near Disneyland.

And bless your little hearts!

