Easy Pumpkin Pie

I am making 2 pumpkin pies this morning. I thought this would be an easy thing to do. After all, I am using a pre-made pie crust.

I have a can of Libbys pumpkin.

How hard can it be?

Well, not so much hard as messy. And panicky.

Dont you just hate it when you are making something from scratch and everything seems to be going so well, you just put your food in the oven and you are feeling pretty good about the day…then you turn around and see a crucial ingredient still sitting on the shelf? Yikes! All hands on deck!

Harrumph. I already whined about this on my other blog, la petite kitchen, so I will spare you that. But I wanted to share the Libby’s recipe that I altered a bit.  Plus I like using my new recipe making widget here on WordPress.

So here is my adaptation. For the Libby’s recipe click here.

Go ahead. After all, it’s an American tradition, burnt pie crust and all.

In retrospect, in having warmed up the filling first, I might lessen the baking time by 10 minutes or so.

 

Pumpkin Pie

IMG_0541 (765x1024)

  • Yield: 2 Pies (16 Servings)
  • Prep: 15 mins
  • Cook: 55-60 mins
  • Ready In: 1 hr 10 mins

This is a slight adaptation to the recipe on the back of the Libby’s can. If you can remember to put in ALL of the ingredients, this should be pretty easy.

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. In a large saucepan, mix in all the ingredients and mix with a hand mixer. Remember you are using 3 whole eggs and 1 extra egg yolk. I had the heat on low to gently heat the mixture. I dont know if I would bother doing that again. You could just do it in a mixing bowl. If you choose to warm it first (for flavor boost I hope) then reduce baking time by about 10 minutes.
  3. Lay out your pie crusts and set into the pie pans. I use a fork to decorate the edging.
  4. Pour in the pie filling. Put the pies in the hot oven. After 15 minutes, reduce the heat to 350 and set timer for 40 minutes. Check and if it looks too underdone, let it bake in 5 minute increments until done. It should still be a bit jiggly in the center.
I'd like to hear from you!

