Pumpkin Pie, its messing with my head

I am sitting here clacking away at the keyboard with pumpkin spatters all over my shirt.

Forgot the apron. Thought this would be so easy-speasy I would not need one.

Dont you just hate it when you are making something from scratch and everything seems to be going so well, you just put your food in the oven and you are feeling pretty good about the day…then you turn around and see a crucial ingredient still sitting on the shelf?

I know you’ve done it too. Don’t deny it. We all have.

You can almost hear the balloon of your hopes pop.

I am making 2 pumpkin pies, one for us, one for a friend. And of course, I can’t just leave well enough alone. I can’t just use the recipe on the back of the Libbys can, a perfectly good recipe mind you, without thinking, “well, what if I …” and there it goes.

So I looked up some good recipes. Like the one from Paula Deen, which I will try next time. (I would try it this time, but I am also making a pumpkin cheesecake as well).

Or this one, an adaptation from Americans Test Kitchen, which, to no ones surprise, is more complicated, but promises an astounding pie. It has candied yams as well as pumpkin, which tickles my fancy and makes me want to try it. Besides which, Test Kitchen has never let me down. But I actually found this recipe on Debi Waylands site, Life Currents.

That is also for another day, as I don’t happen to have any candied  yams and I am ready to bake now.

I feel I make a great concession to simplicity by using store-bought pie crust. The rest of the pumpkin pie is easy-breezy.

Just mix them up, pour them in, bake them!

Well…I decided to use my hand mixer and blend them over a slow heat, just to warm it up and brighten the spices. I used Trader Joes Pumpkin pie spice. (I am finally using it for pumpkin pie! I use this spice for lots of other things as well. Stock up if you can, they don’t sell it all year.)

I thought I might use half brown sugar, half white. I almost used some maple syrup, then thought against it. It might compete with the brown sugar taste and I am not wasting maple syrup. Not at that price! I also noticed recipes using more egg yolks than whole eggs. Hmm.

I  was torn about the crust. About half the recipes called for pre-baking, the other half not. I went the lazy route and did not pre-bake.

So there I am tra-la-la, mixing my ingredients, pouring them in the 2 pie pans and popping them in the oven.

Mixing nicely, thinking all is well. Doesn’t having light make such a difference in picture taking? I love having light now. I did not realize how much I was living in darkness in my previous kitchen cave.

Then I turn around. (music here from shower scene of ‘Psycho’)

There sits a can of evaporated milk.

The recipe calls for 2 cans. No wonder the batter seemed sparse! I thought as I poured “Shouldn’t this have filled it up more?”

Heaving big sigh.

So I yelled, turned off the oven, pulled out the pies. I poured the batter back into the saucepan and watched the now soggy crust get misshapen and messy. I added the other can of milk, mixed it up. Did my best to wipe off the crust and make it look reasonably pretty. Okay, it’s not likely to be pretty anyway. But it did fill the shells decently.

And it is just pie. Nothing to jump off a bridge about. But I will be paying better attention for the pumpkin cheesecake, I tell you!

Here is the recipe as I made it. I am waiting to see how it turns out, but other than ugly, I am not too concerned. (I licked the pan. It made me feel a little better about my morning.)

Pumpkin Pie

IMG_0541 (765x1024)

  • Yield: 2 Pies (16 Servings)
  • Prep: 15 mins
  • Cook: 55-60 mins
  • Ready In: 1 hr 10 mins

This is a slight adaptation to the recipe on the back of the Libby’s can. If you can remember to put in ALL of the ingredients, this should be pretty easy.

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. In a large saucepan, mix in all the ingredients and mix with a hand mixer. Remember you are using 3 whole eggs and 1 extra egg yolk. I had the heat on low to gently heat the mixture. I don’t know if I would bother doing that again. You could just do it in a mixing bowl. If you choose to warm it first (for flavor boost I hope) then reduce baking time by about 10 minutes.
  3. Lay out your pie crusts and set into the pie pans. I use a fork to decorate the edging.
  4. Pour in the pie filling. Put the pies in the hot oven. After 15 minutes, reduce the heat to 350 and set timer for 40 minutes. Check and if it looks too underdone, let it bake in 5 minute increments until done. It should still be a bit jiggly in the center.
9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie, its messing with my head

  1. Laughing. Out. Loud! I honestly can picture you yelling, turning off the oven, and pulling out the pies! I hope your pies are scrumptious. = )

    And where, may I ask, are pictures of this new and gloriously well-lit kitchen? Hmmm? If I don’t see pictures by this weekend, I’m coming over sometime next week to see it in person. (I may do that anyway.)

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving & thanks for the laugh. I’m about to go in the kitchen to make my pies for tomorrow (tomorrow! gulp!). Pecan pie (where I grind the pecans rather than use pecans halves) and the ATK pumpkin. I’ll try not to forget anything! Thanks also for the linky love! 🙂

  3. I did the very same thing with a chocolate ginger chilli pan of brownies when I was just about to put them into the oven and realised that I had forgotten to add the eggs…sigh…

I'd like to hear from you!

