Kale Salad with Sweet Potatoes, Avocados and Apples

I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving last month. I wanted to share a recipe for an unusual, delicious and healthy salad my daughter made here for the dinner. I have made unusual before. I have made delicious before. I have even occasionally made healthy before. But this combo was magic!

I know dark green vegetables are really the best for you. Which is why I tend to stay away from Iceberg lettuce and romaine hearts. I feel like I struck gold when I find a big untrimmed head of Romaine to use for salads and sandwiches at home. But kale? I thought that was something you grew in the garden to look ornamental. And something foreigners ate.

But I guess I was wrong. (I know you’re not gasping with surprise here.)

Here is the star of the show:

Can you pretend those young arms and hands are mine?
Can you pretend those young arms and hands are mine?

Lets look at most of the other ingredients:

IMG_0551 (1024x765)

You do need to cook the sweet potato in advance. We wrapped it in foil and baked it along side the turkey. Or was it the rolls? Anyway, we baked it until tender, then my daughter, the healthy food guru, diced it up.

While that baked, she put the kale in the largest bowl I could find and put the dressing on it to wilt and tenderize the tough kale. The acids in the lemon juice must be what does it.

Doused in dressing and ready to wilt.
Doused in dressing and ready to wilt.

Then she diced up the cucumber, the avocado and the apple. She toasted the pepitas and let them cool.

When it was time to eat, she gently tossed together all the vegetables and the nuts together with the kale.

I admit, I ate more than my share. But wait, it was Thanksgiving! So thats okay.
I admit, I ate more than my share. But wait, it was Thanksgiving! So thats okay.

Something else I like about this salad, it’s autumn fare. Avocados, at least on my moms tree, are just coming into season. And it is apple season as well. We get cucumbers all the time and lemons (as well as oranges) are also just coming into season. Kale is also a cool weather green, so this is perfect for all those northern hemisphere living peoples! (Sorry Fran, a bit late for you. Do you grow avocados in Tasmania?)

Here is the recipe again:

  • Yield: 6 Servings
  • Prep: 20 mins
  • Cook: 60 mins
  • Ready In: 1 hr 20 mins

This is a sparkle of healthy and delicious for your holiday or everyday meal.

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. To wilt the kale, put the bite size pieces into a large bowl. Add a couple splashes of olive oil, the juice of one lemon and plenty of salt. Massage these ingredients into the kale. Don’t be afraid to be rough! Knead this into the fibers vigorously without tearing the fibers. Set aside to marinate.
  2. Meanwhile prepare the other vegetables, like dicing the baked sweet potato, slicing the radishes and cucumbers and cubing the avocado.The original recipe did not have all the same fruits and veggies, these are what we like. Have the cheese and nuts handy
  3. As an optional plus, you could add cooked, diced chicken breast.
  4. After the kale has marinated for at least 20 minutes, add the apple, vegetables, nuts and cheese. Toss
  5. Mince the garlic and ginger. Put this in a mixing bowl and add the mustard, vinegar, a couple good glugs of olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Whip this together with a whisk, then drizzle into the salad. Do not drown the salad. Remember the kale already has lemon and oil on it, so go easy. You can save dressing in the fridge for another day. Toss again and serve!
One thought on “Kale Salad with Sweet Potatoes, Avocados and Apples

  1. My kind of salad…EMMM! We can’t grow avocados here in Tasmania but that isn’t stopping me from trying! I have several shrublings that I grew from seeds but most of them are not very happy :(. I ADORE avocados and will keep on trying to grow them but kale will grow here quite happily and I love it too. This recipe (thank your youthful healthy daughter for me 😉 ) will be a definate “Yes” on my Christmas table 🙂

I'd like to hear from you!

