Perfect Brown Rice

In an effort to stay away from the 3 bad ‘whites’; flour, sugar, rice, I have decided to make our fried rice tonight with brown rice. Now ideally, I would make the rice ahead of time and chill it. Maybe some day I will plan that far ahead. For now, not so much.

But I made this rice and it came out, again, wonderful. I got the idea from Skinnytaste.com. How I found it I have no idea. One link leads to another leads to another and before you know it, you are in a Rip Van Winkle time vortex and 10 years have gone by.

Hello Mr. Perfect Brown Rice! Ready for stir frying?
Hello Mr. Perfect Brown Rice! Ready for stir frying?

This is how I made about 4 cups of brown rice ready for any meal.

Easy Brown Rice

  • Yield: about 4 cups

Here is an easy and sure fire way to make brown rice for fried rice or any meal.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups brown rice I use organic short grain
  • 8 cups water more or less. I just put in lots of water, like making noodles.
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Instructions

  1. Rinse the rice. Put the rice and water in a pot with the salt. Bring to a boil. Don’t put a lid full on it or it will boil over.
  2. Simmer for 20 minutes. When the timer goes off, drain the rice for 10 seconds, then put the rice and whatever moisture was left over back in the pot, put a lid on it and let it steam for another 20 minutes. Taste for doneness. Thats it!
  3. (another recipe has you simmer for 30 minutes, drain, the steam for 10. The results are the same, oddly enough.)

(Down there)

I'd like to hear from you!

