Dried Beet Greens

I know, this sounds like something you might find on the Beverly Hillbillies. (remember those days?) Anything with the word ‘greens’ in it sounds so…southern I guess.

My mom makes these dried beet greens from her garden beets every year and we tend to gobble them all up.

All fresh and green and healthy looking
All fresh and green and healthy looking

They are light and crisp, a lot like the seaweed sold as snacks everywhere you look now.

This year, I thought I would try them myself. (Just like I tried her ginger pickles myself. I think I am turning into my mother!)

They did not come out very pretty.

IMG_1947 (828x1024)

I may have over salted them. Then the salt blended with the water on the leaves and gave it a kind of salt flats look about it.

But if you happen to have some beets and you don’t want to just toss the green leaves in the trash, here is a real easy way to turn them into a snack.

Just lay them on a baking sheet. I suggest spraying with non stick oil first. They do like to stick.Then just sprinkle with some salt and pop into a 350 degree oven. Bake about 10 minutes. Check and see if they look flat and crispy. If so, they are done. Thats it. Quick and easy, salty-crispy with loads of vitamins.

Actually, it looks like some scary thing that might come crawling out from under the bed.
Actually, it looks like some scary thing that might come crawling out from under the bed. Great for a scary Halloween snack? I DARE you to make them!
One thought on “Dried Beet Greens

  1. I just experimented with beet greens for the first time a few weeks ago — I sauteed them in place of spinach. Love this idea! Salty, yet healthy!

I'd like to hear from you!

