Cheesecake Pie; whats in your old recipe box?

So I am going through my old recipe box (remember back-in-the-day, before you could pull up any of 10 bazillion recipes from the web in an instant, you had to use either your own cookbooks or a recipe from your recipe box that usually came from a friend or your grandma?) looking for something cool to take to a party. Cool as in it is eyeball-melting-hot today and I want to bring something cool! I was thinking along the lines of my grandmas strawberry yogurt pie maybe.

Then I found this Cheesecake Pie. The recipe was sparse. Was there really 18 oz of cream cheese? Wow. (no). What was the whip cream? I had never made this one. I was intrigued!

IMG_2128 (1024x765)

So I had to re-interpret the recipe from my grandma, who has not been with us these 25 years now. But her memories, and recipes, live on.

It looks very white. Maybe it needs some berries over the top?
It looks very white. Maybe it needs some berries over the top? But it was delicious.
Here is someones recipe box left at church in the kitchen.
Here is someones recipe box left at church in the kitchen.

IMG_0203 (1024x765)IMG_0204 (1024x765)

I can see myself collecting old recipe boxes. Too bad this one got away.

Grandmas Cheesecake Pie

 

  • Yield: 1 pie
  • Prep: 10 minutes mins

Probably from some old fundraiser cookbook, this is a pleaser, easy to make, cool and wonderful.

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. Gather your ingredients. Open up the crust package. Get out a mixer. Mix the cream cheese and sugar until light and blended.
  2. Mix in the sour cream and Cool Whip. I used a wooden spoon for this part to kind of fold in the ingredients.
  3. Pour into the crust and chill. Thats it! I usually freeze until a couple of hours before I need to serve it. It should be chilled, not served frozen.
I'd like to hear from you!

