I left my heart….in San Fransisco…

The city of golden opportunities. The land of high-tech and young faces. The land of bright hopes and start-up companies. The Manhattan of the west. That is the feel for the city  I had while I was visiting my daughter this cold July week.

Beware. This post is mostly pictures and is long. But I couldn’t leave out any of these photos. Each one is its own story.

My son and I just returned from our little vacation to the bay area. My daughter lives in San Fransisco as you probably already know. We had a wonderful time! Since cars are not very practical, she had sold her cute little bug and so we did a lot of hoofing it. As well as using zip cars (renting local cars for around town), cabs, Lyfts, buses, trolleys, subways and cable cars. We walked for miles and have now seen most of the city up close and personal. And I have legs of steel. But a few days at home sitting here at my desk should cure that. Unless I get out and WALK!

Well, pictures tell a thousand words, so here you go…

Lyfts are an up and coming concept here, sort of like taking a cab, but not. You see them all around town with their fuzzy pink mustaches.
Lyfts are an up and coming concept here, sort of like taking a cab, but not. You see them all around town with their fuzzy pink mustaches.
First night, dinner at Nopa. Here is our complimentary crustinis with warm goat cheese and strawberries with balsamic.
First night, dinner at Nopa. Here is our complimentary crustinis with warm goat cheese and strawberries with balsamic.
We had a table above the crowds.
We had a table above the crowds.
Paul had a hamburger from grass fed beef with organic everything on the side.
Paul had a bacon hamburger from grass fed beef with organic everything on the side.
Were hoping to find Dr. Who in Golden gate Park.
Were hoping to find Dr. Who in Golden gate Park.
A walk through the park.
A walk through the park. Does it look cold? It WAS cold, let me tell you.
Pretty fushias along the way back.
Pretty fushias along the way back.
Paul with a blackberry drip coffee. What we didn't know was that another Paul had ordered the same drink ahead of us. We got to it first. Oops.
Paul with a blackberry drip coffee. What we didn’t know was that another Paul had ordered the same drink ahead of us. We got to it first. Oops.
Here is the view from Coit tower. We went from here to a park for a picnic lunch.
Here is the view from Coit tower. We went from here to a park for a picnic lunch.
Oooh, sunshine!
Oooh, sunshine! Our picnic was from Whole foods.

Almost every little store there was a mini Whole foods. Good milks and cheeses, organic everything, fresh breads, some butchers shops. I only went to one actual bakery and I was so excited I forgot to get pictures. Bah!

A visit to the beach. A 6'2"guy trying to look through the lookout thingy.
A visit to the beach. These things were clearly made for shorter people. A 6’2″guy trying to look through the lookout thingy.
Paul did get some pictures of Acme bakery at the ferry building.
Paul did get some pictures of Acme bakery at the ferry building.
And lets not forget the famous Cowgirl Cheese right next door. Only a zillion dollars a pound, but worth every penny. We had some Mt. Tam cheese which they are famous for. Takes your breath away.
And lets not forget the famous Cowgirl Creamery right next door. Only a zillion dollars a pound, but worth every penny. We had some Mt. Tam cheese which they are famous for. Takes your breath away.
Like this.
Like this. $33 per pound!!!
Here is a guy selling instant poems he writes on his old typewriter. Paul had to have one.
Here is a guy selling instant poems he writes on his old typewriter. Paul had to have one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello China Town
Hello China Town. Too many hills for my taste.
Here is Jess trying to help me keep up.
Here is Jess trying to help me keep up.
We had dumplings and rice and...stuff in China town.
We had dumplings and rice and…stuff in China town.
Then another day we took the 22 bus to Japan town.
Then another day we took the 22 bus to Japan town.

I liked it better. Fewer crowds, no hills. Cleaner. I highly recommend it.

Peace pagoda.
Peace pagoda.

IMG_2410 (765x1024)IMG_2414 (765x1024)IMG_2416 (765x1024)

You have to eat healthy in SF. Its the law. Nutrition police will find you, hunt you down and give you vitamins if you dont eat your veggies.
You have to eat healthy in SF. Its the law. Nutrition police will find you, hunt you down and give you vitamins if you dont eat your veggies. Notice Gluten free pumpkin bread. We had just visited the farmers market.
Ever hear of this exotic place? I hadn't.
Ever hear of this exotic place? I hadn’t.
So thats where the last unicorn went to!
So thats where the last unicorn went to!
We rode on one of these.
We rode on one of these.
And one of these...
And one of these…
Even one of these
Even one of these
Cable car museum
Cable car museum
We mostly used these.
We mostly used these.

One last photo…

We enjoyed so much amazing architecture and history.
Here is a recently remodeled home. We enjoyed so much amazing architecture and history.

A big thank you to our wonderful tour guide who had the patience to take us to the touristy places and the creativity to take us to the unusual places as well. Thank you Jess! There are more pictures, but I figure only my mother and maybe a couple other relatives would have waded through this far as it is.

So now you have a general idea of whats in store for you if you make a trip to the Golden city. My next trip to the bay area I would like to make a farm trip, visiting some more well known dairies (Organic Pastures) and farms. California’s best creameries, dairies, and organic farms are up there. Lets go!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “I left my heart….in San Fransisco…

  1. It’s so good to see pictures of you, Jess, and Paul. I can hardly believe that is Paul! I am glad you enjoyed SF. I went there once or twice, saw the sites, waded through the people, took pictures. Maybe I’ll go back someday, but I’d have to have a good reason. You had a really good reason.

I'd like to hear from you!

