Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Oatmeal Raisin Cookiesm,klkHere is an old favorite cookie recipe. I am actually not that big of a raisin fan. But these cookies just buck me up, plant a smile on my face and make me reach for another. Not too sweet, so eating 3 or 4 does not feel decadent. (I do try to stop at 6).  Add nuts for crunch if you want.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cubes
    butter
  • 1 cup
    brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup
    white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon
    vanilla
  • 1 cup each
    whole wheat pastry and AP flours
  • 1 1/2 cups
    old-fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon
    baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon
    baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon
    salt
  • 1 1/2 cups
    raisins

Cooking Directions

  1. Using a hand mixer or standing mixer, blend the butter and sugars well.

  2. Add the eggs, one at a time and mix well.

  3. Add the vanilla.

  4. In another bowl, mix all the dry ingredients, but not the raisins. Mix well.

  5. Now stir in the raisins.

  6. Drop by spoonfuls onto a parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 350 for about 12 minutes or until just starting to brown around the edges.

  7. Let cool about 1 minute in the pan, then transfer to a cooling rack.

Actually, I just wanted to use this opportunity to try a recipe format I found called RecipeSEO. Its free which is always a good price, but I am not crazy about the way it lists the ingredients. I would rather see them on one line. I will keep looking perhaps.

One thing about not using a hosted blog site is you cannot add “plug-ins” to this kind of blog. Plug-ins are very useful gadgets that add spark to the site with things like falling snowflakes, slide shows and recipe makers, with tabs for printing and such. So I am trying to find the next best thing for now. In the meantime, if anyone actually wants to use this cookie recipe, they would have to either copy and paste it into a word type document or take the computer into the kitchen or maybe copy it out my hand (yikes).

I'd like to hear from you!

