Pecan Sandies

Homemade cookies are really so easy to make, easy to do ahead, easy to eat and eat and eat, I wonder more people don’t make them more often. I can understand buying maybe Oreos. It’s hard to make something like Oreos. But after eating homemade cookies, its hard, almost impossible, to go back to processed, prepackaged, prestaled cookies. Okay, maybe the occasional Nutter Butters. And Girl Scout cookies are a whole other ball game.

I tend to make my cookie dough a day or so ahead of time, then store them in bowls covered with plastic wrap or store in large ziplock bags. You could, I suppose, if you were really a plan-aheader, make them into individual cookie balls of dough, set them on a baking sheet, the freeze them. After frozen, put them in a zip-lock bag until you are ready to bake.

I remember in a land long ago and far away, when I used to waitress. I rode a bike home late at night, past the bats swooping around the rooftops (and after 8 hours on my feet)  and I would be cold and tired. I cranked on the oven while a tub filled with hot water. I would take some dough I had stored in the fridge (before the days when you could even imagine buying premade cookie dough) and pop about 6 in the oven to bake. I poured a large glass of milk and when done, put the cookies on a plate on the edge of the tub. Got in and soaked while eating cookies, drinking milk and listening to the buzzing in my head. I would later go to bed, fall fast asleep (back before eating cookies at 2 in the morning would keep me awake) and dream that I was waitressing in my pajamas. Then I would get up and get ready to do it all again.

Well, while I am on my cookie contemplation, I will share with you another yummy cookie recipe. If you happen to have some rice flour on hand (I picked some up randomly at Cortinas, an Italian deli) it gives this cookie a somewhat sandy feel and a melt in your mouth texture, as does the powdered sugar.I was out of pecans this last time, so I used whole almonds to top it with as well as some almond flavoring. They came out great too. I don’t have much in the way of pictures, but will share the recipe any-hoo.

Ready to pop into the oven
Ready to pop into the oven (yes, I know these aren’t pecans.

Pecan Sandies

1 ½ cups flour, AP

¼ cup rice flour

½ cup powdered sugar

1 cup butter (2 cubes)

1 teaspoon salt

½ cup toasted, cooked and diced pecans

A few drops of either butterscotch or almond flavoring, optional

1.     Blend the butter and sugar well, until light and fluffy. Add the flours and salt. Add the flavorings and pecans.

2.     Roll into little balls and place on parchment lined baking sheet. Flatten with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar.

3.     Bake in a 300 degree oven for about 15 minutes or until showing signs of browning around edges.

I used a glass with a design cut into it.
I used a glass with a design cut into it. It gave the cookies a bit of personality.
I still felt it needed a little something. Lipstick, a scarf maybe. Oh, how about an almond? I found some in my freezer.
I still felt it needed a little something. Lipstick, a scarf maybe. Oh, how about an almond? I found some in my freezer. (see top picture).
I'd like to hear from you!

