Caramelitta Cookies (chocolate caramel filled)

Since the last time I went to find this recipe I wasted oodles of time banging my head against the wall because I could not for my life find this little book it was in, I now plan on being better prepared. I am going to post this recipe here so next time I wont have to go digging through a zillion books to see where it disappeared to. This recipe is from one of those check-out magazine racks that hold little books such as this Pillsbury Bake-Off book. Or booklet as it were. I love those little books. Some of my favorite recipes started from such books. They are dog-eared and worn out with covers coming off. And they have a way of slipping behind rows of books so you can’t find them when you need them!

Well guess what? I found it!

caramelitasSo here is the recipe for these chocolate cookies with a caramel center. And chopped nuts. Cakey, caramely, chewy…

2 1/2 cups AP flour

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup butter, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 eggs

1 cup chopped pecans

48 Rolo caramel candies, unwrapped

1 tablespoon sugar

  1. lightly spoon flour into measuring cup, level off. In medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa and baking soda. Mix well.

  2. In a large bowl, combine butter and sugars until well blended, light and fluffy. Add vanilla and eggs. Beat well. Add the dry ingredients and blend well. Add 1/2 cup of the chopped pecans.  Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes to help control the stickiness.

  3. Preheat the oven to 375. Line a baking sheet or two with parchment.

  4. For each cookie, using floured hands, take a spoonful of dough and shape it around a Rolo candy, covering completely.

  5. In a small bowl combine the rest of the chopped pecans and the tablespoon of sugar. Dip each cookie in this pecan mixture and place, nut side up, on the parchment.

  6. Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes ro until set and slightly cracked. Cool 2 minutes before moving to wire racks to cool.

  7. its supposed to make 4 dozen cookies, but I usually do not get that many out of it. I must use too much dough and make bigger cookies. I can live with that.

In the picture I see I must have sprinkled some powdered sugar over them too. Just for looks. Like cookie eye-shadow and lipstick. It makes them prettier, but they are already sweet inside.

I'd like to hear from you!

