Steak and Pepper Pasta

Here is a weird recipe. I will tell you that upfront.

I found it years and years ago in some book or other, modified it a bit and weird though it is, I LOVE IT!

I only make it once every year or so. Probably because I eat too much of it.

I stopped shoveling it into my mouth long enough to snap a picture though.

It is pretty simple, if you have some sherry around. Really, you must have sherry. It is a key ingredient.

You need some steak. I usually use a sirloin steak. I used to slice it up and saute it in butter, like the recipe called for, but I found it turned grey and steamed instead of fried. Probably because I tried to saute too much meat at the same time. Better to do it in batches. But instead of that I grill or fry the whole steak, then slice thinly.

You can use whatever meat floats you carnivorous boat.

Steak and Pepper Pasta

1 lb. sirloin steak, slice thin and pat dry

¼ cup butter

2 large cloves garlic, (presses in garlic press. Only 2, really?)

3 large onions, cut in half and sliced thinly

2 small green peppers, chopped

¼ cup (or more) dry sherry

2 tsp salt, some pepper

Parmesan, lots

Olive oil

Start the water for the pasta because it seems to take forever to boil. Cook pasta when boiling. In the meantime, while waiting for the watched pot to boil…

In skillet, melt half the butter and sauté half the steak until still pink. Remove to a platter and keep warm while sautéing the other half of the steak. Remove to platter.

Add the vegetables to the same skillet and cook until crisp tender. (I am thinking about 10 minutes.) Add the garlic and sauté a minute more.

Add sherry and seasoning. (Sometimes I would add some Lawry’s here.) If it seems too dry, add more sherry, then cook off the alcohol for just a minute. I don’t really measure it anymore.

Toss in some- lots- of Parmesan cheese. That and the sherry are the main hero’s here.

Spoon out into a pasta bowl and add more parmesan.

Dig in!

 

I'd like to hear from you!

